RSS Feed

Secret Weapon(s)

Spanx

High hip accented by pantyhose waist:

back1

No underwear:

back2

Oh ho! well, I wasn’t going without underwear but I got an idea to look around for something that would completely slim without the lumps and bumps of long line bras or the waist indentation cause by panty hose.

Spanx High Waisted pantyhose completely improved the dress’s fit and style. Perfect! The high waist did roll toward the end of the evening, though, when I got into a corny mood and did The Twist. I was with my two male friends and a few other single woman but most attendees were couples so I didn’t dance except for these few minutes of madness.

I also tried very hard to buy new perfume for my elegant night out. Lucky Magazine and Vogue have had samples of Lucky 6 that are crave-making. Upon testing in the store, the fragrance did not last nor did it “wear” well. Too puny!

Chanel’s Allure brought the usual queries and complements and remains a favorite.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. I’ve heard of these, and have never seen them in action.

    Thanks for being brave and posting the pics!

    Reply
  2. I am a Spanx devotee! I even wear them under jeans. I just don’t like the idea of anything “jiggling”.

    Reply
  3. Leslie in Austin

    Spanx rock!

    Reply
  4. Have a pair of these myself. They make me laugh b/c they remind me of watching my grandma get into her girdle. Oh, the things we do!

    Reply
  5. Oh I love Spanx. Although the girdle comment makes me laugh. I remember getting into my own girdle. Whether I needed it or not gridle wearing was still a right of passage. Luckily we did it, dumped it, and now come back to Spanx!

    Reply
  6. It looks like they’d give great lower back
    support too!

    Reply
  7. I need this shaper thing. What a great difference that made with the dress! I have a few dresses that hit the high hip thing on me was well. I got to check out this Secret Weapon. Your gown looks great!

    Reply
  8. I love those Spanx undergarments. I bought some for my trip to Hawaii and lived in them. My favorite perfume is Very Sexy for Her by Victoria Secret (in the pink bottle). Drives men crazy. 🙂 BTW your red dress is gorgeous. Nice job.

    Reply
  9. I made the mistake of buying these spanx in a size smaller than I should have since I’m on the cusp. I’ll try again in the larger size. I also wear Sexy by Victoria Secret and but Chanel No.5 is still my fav. I’ll test Allure next time I’m out 🙂

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

