RSS Feed

Future Fabric Shortage?

Lisa at SewRandom blogged today about a possible shortage of fabrics available for sewists.  She is concerned because Walmart is taking fabric out of its stores. Her words borrowed from Michael of Micheal’s Fabrics have always been a guidance to me: “there will always be more fabrics.” And her stats on fabric “in” and fabric “out” have helped me regulate my fabric buying tendancies. So now, my dear thoughtful friend is reconsidering whether or not there will always be more fabric for US sewing fanatics.

But…

Should we take out our credit cards to buy more fabrics from our favorite online fabric vendors?  Online fabric purchases once occupied my time but for the past year or so I have cut back, preferring to buy top quality from vendors at sewing expos or traveling 100 plus miles to stores. 

Cash outlay for more fabric?  Is stashing a good idea?   I say, “no, it’s not, if you are using a credit card that you won’t pay off within the month”.

I then ran across this US Today article that states that developing nations are now funding the US habit of living beyond it’s means:

http://www.usatoday.com/money/world/2007-02-07-emerging-markets-usat_x.htm?csp=34

In summation: don’t buy more than you can afford to pay back before the cards charge interest on that fabulous purchase.   We need to be realistic about our fabric needs at the same time that we support our favorite fabric vendors, God Bless Them All! 

By the way: a great online source for fabrics can be found at the new blogsite BeSewStylish

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Aye, there’s the rub…. nope, can’t buy more than the budget allows, that’s for sure. And it’s not so much that I’m worried because Wal-Mart is taking out its fabric section; that’s just the event that sparked the discussion, although I will miss that dollar table when I’m buying costuming supplies (which doesn’t come out of my budget…). Just that, well, there are changes happening…and I’m not going to take it for granted anymore that it *will* be there. Sigh.

    Reply
  2. MaryBeth ~ interesting take on the situation…however, I am one of those that only pay for fabric on my debit card. So if it’s in my collection, it was a cash purchase. I would own just wayyyyy to much fabric if I charged it!

    Reply
  3. Carolyn, I’m the same way. It makes me think long and hard about a purchase if I’m using the debit card.

    Reply
  4. I agree about paying cash for purchases. I can’t imagine Wal-mart having difficulty obtaining fabric. But if they truly drop their fabric, it just opens up opportunities for other small businesses to jump in.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

