RSS Feed

Ever Given Up Driving?

I’m all shook up! As dear Georgene says,

it must be the moon in stupid.

It was a dark and stormy night and time to leave The Stitchery for home.

I turned left into the left hand lane of a two lane divided highway with plenty of time to accelerate to the 55 mile an hour flow of traffic and I accelerated.

Bruummmm, 10 mph, shift, brrruuum, 25 mph, bruuuummmm 35 mph, sput, brum, sput, sputter, cough, brum, sputter, uh no! I jerked along up to 50 mph while the muy macho pickup truck coming down my lane advanced my rear, brummmmm, sput, brummmmm, sput. And the engine light came on. The pickup seemed ready to go ahead and push me along so I got into the right lane ASAP, sputtering at 50 mph with traffic going around me, finally.

All except for one little girl in an SUV who climbed onto my bumper and stayed there until I turned on the 4-way flasher. Then she backed off to a decent stopping distance and seemed quite happy to travel safely.

I exited at the first off ramp, pulled into a gas station and snatched the Insight’s manual out of the glove compartment. The engine light will come on if the gas cap is not tightened down. OK, so I got out, unscrewed the gas cap, noting that it did seem to come off quickly, and retightened it the mandatory multiple clicks. I reentered the traffic flow and got back on the freeway, engine light still on but only a little engine hesitation.

Further down the road I exited that highway and entered the lane to merge onto another highway. I checked my rearview mirror and moved to the left lane to pass a slow moving semi truck, accelerating smoothly to 70 mph, no problem and just before I was ready to pass the truck’s back bumper….

Two zips of siren and flashing blue lights coming up so fast I just barely had time to drop back behind the truck. The police car proceded down the road startling everyone with the sporadic siren right when he was on their tails. Traffic freaked and slowed to 50 in a 70 zone, watching the cop car startle car after car out of the left hand lane, no one knowing if the reaction of the next in line would be a dangerous overreaction!

We all proceded slowly down the highway for another 1.5 miles until my exit. The traffic was still so freaked out everyone was doing 25 mph on the exit ramp where 45 would be normal.

My eyebrows were still on the roof liner but I crawled along behind the others even though technically there was room to pull to the left and proceed to the light where I would turn left, as all the other vehicles were veering toward the right turn lane.

When, right then, someone, whose moon was clearly in stupid, turned the wrong way and entered our exit lane, coming right at me!

Yeah, that’s right.

Potential

Head-on

Coming for me.

We all instantly reacted, pulling over and stopping, easy to do at 25 mph. The wrong-way driver figured out his mistake and turned around.

Good thing I hadn’t gotten impatient with all the drivers who had just been scared out of their minds and pushed past them to my stop light.

I’d definitely be doing something other than trembling right now.

All this happened in less than 15 minutes.

Have you ever just parked your car for a year or two?

Now, I’ve just got to settle down and do a bunch of hand basting. Maybe that will lower my eyebrows.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Zow! Head-on caused by cop being over-coptious? Thanks heavens for small miracles…

    Reply
  2. That sounded so scary! I am so glad disaster was averted and hope you are feeling better now!

    Reply
  3. What a terrible experience! You need to relax and calm down, hand basting sounds good to me 🙂

    Reply
  4. I am so glad you returned home safe, and that some handbasting will help you to relax a bit.

    Reply
  5. Wow. I’m so glad you are okay, MB. This makes
    me so glad I just spent $1600 on car repairs.
    At least now I know I can get out of the way
    of the crazies.

    Reply
  6. Oh I forgot to say – nothing against cops, but
    my very best friend was killed by an over-
    zealous cop 6 years ago. He ran straight thru
    a red light at 80 not slowing to look. He was
    in pursuit of someone speeding.

    Reply
  7. Yeah, MaryT: this one looked like he could have done something horrible, too. The only thing I can think that was going on is (1) he was in a black vehicle, not an ordinary Highway Patrol car (2) he didn’t want to announce his coming as this road, I40, is a major drug artery from Texas/Mexico to the East Coast and he was in stealth mode. But, dang! Oh, well, he ended up saving my life after all.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

