RSS Feed

Placement of Bobbles

Design rule #1 as I have learned it: Neither bobbles nor embroidery belong across the apex of the bust point. Someone please tell the knitwear designers?

Here we go again, folks. I find one of these photos about at least once a year:

Bobbles are lovely
Bobbles are nice
Bobbles can be tacky
When they’re in the wrong place!

Bobbles

Found through AwesomeEwe email displaying pix for 28313 Garnstudio Turn On Your Brights Turn on your headlights? hehehehe

If you are a knitter or just love yarns and knitted styles I do recommend signing up for this free email. Weekly, Maggie sends an interesting note on her thoughts from her personal knitting universe as well as info of new yarns and patterns from the handknitting world.

Click on the AwesomeEwe link above to sign up for her free, friendly and bright notes.

Unlike a blog that you have to check out on your own, this is an old fashioned email (can’t believe I just called email advertising “old fashioned”!) delivered to your inbox that will help you keep updated on what’s new.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. I could actually do without any bobbles … they are right up there with the dreaded “fleurchon” in my taste book. I do like the cable detail though (is that what you call the zig zag?).

    Reply
  2. Yes, Lorna, thanks for asking. The twisted knitted zig-zaggy things are cables. Both bobble and cables are fun to do and add texture to the fabric the knitter creates but…LOL!

    Reply
  3. Thanks, MB! I like knowing that questions asked here are answered. One of these days I am going to learn how to knit. One way or another … right now it is domestic diva day!

    Reply
  4. Especially when they’re such big bobbles too.

    BTW, I’m so glad you escaped unharmed yesterday; I’ve been in handful of similar situations and remember the sick, sick feeling all too well.

    Lisa

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the laugh, MB. Reminds me of the old “You Knit What” blog – it’s still there, but they’ve decided not to post anymore. It also reminds me that I haven’t knitted anything for a year or so . . . maybe I ought to do some knitting again . . .

    Reply
  6. How timely! I’m in the midst of trying out patterns for an Aran (or Arran) sweater. I’ve already eliminated any bobbles. To be precise, the central braided looking twists on this sweater are cables, but the zig zags up the sides of the front and the sleeves are called “traveling rib”, at least according to Mary Thomas’s Book of Knitting Patterns, a fascinating compendium.

    Reply
  7. Yes, you’re right, Tessa…and now that I focus on those “traveling ribs” aren’t they placed just so astoundingly badly as well??? Not on my bust, you don’t!

    Reply
  8. Yeah, the zig zag and carefully placed bobbles really do accentuate her bust, don’t they? Another unfortunate design element to watch out for!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

