RSS Feed

Metro Textiles, Dr Angelou and Settling Back In

Posted on

You know how it is a with an 1700+ road trip and then long working days…it takes a while to reorient to your surroundings and get back into the swing of things. Well, I’m home and I’ve finally caught up with the administrative duties so … hello. I love NYC but it’s good to be home!

I just posted the promised Vogue 8146 jacket alterations at TheSewingDivas wordpress blog.

I loved going to Manhattan but did not have the strength to work the long days so my dear HusPartner let me sleep in late each day. When I arrived at our little sales booth the place was constantly crammed full of people and we worked past closing each night. So the trip was successful for our company and we survived with the help of some wonderful dinners at places like the Blue Fin (ohhh, raw oysters and little neck clams!) and Rosie O’Gradys somehow. We had no time to eat except at the end of the workiing day so the pricey restaurants didn’t bother the budget too badly.

On a rainy Friday I managed to break away for 2 hours and go visit Kashi in his new location. He was the only vendor I visited for any length of time and I left with a rolling suitcase and a huge bag full of fabrics purchased at incredible prices. Here’s his beautiful new card

Metro

He asked that I let everyone know he’s open and ready to do business as soon as you are able.

After I took a taxi back to the hotel room I rejoined the HusPartner at the booth just in time to pick up tickets to hear Dr Maya Angelou at the packed Madison Square Theater. There truly is too much to tell. I sat in the front row, center seat, entranced with the talent standing at the clear plexiglas podium.

She wore a soft blue gray beaded knit column sheath that fit so well it must have been dressmaker made. It was a simple: long sleeved with the shoulder points perfectly placed, jeweled neck and easy to wear.

I had not wanted to go see her “work” in front of a bunch of educators, I had wanted to spend the afternoon in her kitchen, just listening and waiting to see what would happen next.

She spoke, sang, recited life stories about rainbows touching people and poetry but the high point was her huge happy smile as she accepted the standing ovation. It was so much like sitting in her kitchen after all.

Afterwards HusPartner and I visited the FIT Museum to see the Ralph Rucci exhibit. Wonderful! Carolyn, AKA cmarie, gave such a great review of the show I’ll not try to do any better than she did here at her blog Believe every word!

Alas, my main regret is that I did not met up with Ms Carolyn, as I had hoped I would. I just didn’t have enough get up and go. What a sad state of affairs.

We finished off the weekend with a trip to a Ukranian diner in the East Village that Georgene introduced me to 4 years ago: Velselka. Ahhhhh, wonderful food to be found at 2nd Avenue and 9th Street. I love NYC!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. Love the final result of the jacket!

    I am glad that the trip was a good one for both the company and for The Stitchery … and just when do we get to peek inside the rolling suitcase, hmmm?

    Reply
  2. Veselka! Yum, one of our favorites. What a great privilege to see Maya Angelou. I wish I could have joined you. Do show us what you got from Kashi.

    Reply
  3. I am soooo disappointed that we did not get together! However I am glad that you got to see the Ralph Rucci exhibit! Wasn’t it fabulous! Next time you are in NYC, it’s you and me waving our Metro Passes at Kashi!

    Reply
  4. I was sooo disappointed that I didn’t get a chance to see you! However I am glad that you made it to the Ralph Rucci Exhibit! The next time you come to NYC we are definitely getting together and heading over to Kashi’s!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Shirt Waist Dress Obsessed « The Sewing Divas

So, What Do You Think?

