RSS Feed

Cotton or Corn…will there be a US cotton shortage?

Posted on

MarketWatch, an online DowJones site, has an commentary by Kevin Kerr, Cotton ready to run higher. Commentary: As farmers opt for corn, cotton will climb

The general consensus is that many farmers are switching out of less profitable crops like cotton and rice and moving into the lucrative corn market, which has benefited from the ethanol boom.

So, the cotton we crave just might be outplaced by the green clean air we require, if the ethanol business is going to grow on corn rather than a cellouic based ethanol like that derived from hemp.

A dear friend many of us sewing bloggers know wrote that her father, living in farm country, predicted last Spring that there wouldn’t be any cotton planted if the ethanol of choice was going to be based on corn.

Looks like he sure might know a thing or two. (A tip of the hat to he who pays attention!)

And still the US awaits the answer to the question: when will China want the hundreds of thousands of cotton bales we are holding for them???

And who can really understand all these world-wide shenanigans? Not I! Although I do try. Really. 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. 😉 that would be my dad, a retired Hendricks Co, IN farmer who pays more attention to these things than I do. Not sure which farm publication he got his info from, though…

    Mary, you’re sweet! 😀

    Reply
  2. Guess I’d better fix the spelling of “cellulosic”, not “cellouic” but I don’t want to “edit” and bump this post back up on the RSS feeds…hmmmm, what’s a writer to do?

    Reply
  3. Although I would hardly call corn a lucrative cropping option! The price may be pretty good now, but when everyone decides that ethanol is not a viable solution, there will be a glut once again. Just my primary producer antenna rearing up!

    Reply
  4. Just edit & never mind the bumping up! (I have to admit I constantly go back and edit my posts, but editing’s my trade, so I would. 🙂 )As for understanding world shenanigans, all I know is that, if nothing else, it’s important to keep trying.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

