RSS Feed

Kissing Diva and Cattle Patients

Posted on

Ahhhhhhhh! I can finally kiss my dog! And let the cat sleep on my bed. Poor befuddled but tolerant dears thought I was mad at them and was withholding affection and attention because they had been bad animals. They relaxed a bit when I could sing and dance for them and show my teeth in a big smile but still, they knew things were different and they just politely didn’t push. I know they could smell the difference in my body chemistry. They really hated it when I sang off-key or lost the rhythm in a twirling step. These guys want The Sound of Music, I swear! So they’re probably glad we’re back to holding hands instead of my bad cabaret. Much more “normal” and boy, good thing we don’t have neighbors with binoculars!

Background: My husband has been very protective of me and wouldn’t let me touch the animals and of course he’s right: they are grungy critters, just ’cause they are critters and free to be in the fields. And chemo does kill off the immune system so one must watch out for infections.

I had my blood work done yesterday, after a horrific week of radiation.

No, the radiation treatment wasn’t horrific, the way the program is run is horrific, along the lines of herding mindless cattle through a long process of hurry up and wait.

My thoughts on yesterday are summed up best by “Nurse Ratchet, grab me one more time and someone’s going down!” I have put the program on notice that they must behave in a more business-like manner or they will be dealing further with my ideas of how the program should be run. I can see the straight jackets coming out already. On the other hand maybe they’ll hire me as customer service admin to organize a smooth running system that makes sense? Nawwwwww. But back in the day, the squeeky wheel often got hired just to keep them quiet (sneer). So what are the chances of my medical team reading this blog, let’s see….

So what happened after my radiation treatment? They stuck me with a needle and drew my blood. That ought to tell me something about the power of the medical profession, right?

OK, back to my favorite thing: Kissing!!!! My blood work indicates that chemotherapy has not left me totally open to infections. In fact everything is in the normal range except that the white cells are down just a tiny bit. I am free to smooch. How cool is that???? So, look out! Anyone I love could be next! Good thing most of you are miles away and quite safe or you would all be kissed, each and every one!

So now finally, after two weeks, I get to really return to my home and that home is in the loving arms and paws of my family.

family

Purrrrrrrrr! Smooch!

Gotch ya!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

19 responses »

  1. Glad you are doing so well. There’s nothing like the healing power of family and beloved pets!

    Reply
  2. Love your spirit MaryB. Take very good care of yourself, I hope you will be able to beat this ‘nuisance’.
    Hugs
    Gemma

    Reply
  3. Awww – what a cute family! There’s no place like home! Glad you can be back with you cute pets and can shower them (and everyone else!) with affection.

    Reply
  4. good to ‘see’ you again, and with good news! take care of yourself, and i believe smooches and affection can speed the healing. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Mary Beth, support and love are so important and I strongly believe in having friends (with hands, paws or feathers ) is so good for the healing process, just if it makes you feel needed and accepted

    Reply
  6. Mary Beth, welcome back in the ‘Blog-o-sphere’. Els told me you came back home a few days ago, and without knowing from each other we send the same Hallmark e-card! Maybe we are twins after all… she’s only 20 months older then I am. 😉

    Reply
  7. MaryBeth so good to see your smiling face again, with your beloved ones around you.A big cyber smoothie to you and Dave.

    Reply
  8. I love that picture! You all look great. I want to be reincarnated as a pet in your house!

    Reply
  9. Hugs! Welcome back!

    And I agree, The Sun is spot-on.

    Reply
  10. Good to hear things are going better!

    Reply
  11. so glad you are back
    m morris

    Reply
  12. MB, you look so happy at home with your loved ones! I am glad to know that your spirit is as strong as ever. You are constantly in my thoughts! xoxo

    Reply
  13. It’s great to see you both smiling despite
    the challenges!

    Reply
  14. Yeah, I am glad to see that you are home and am sure that snuggling with your family is the best place for you to be (spoken as one who is glad to have her family back home with her)

    Glad to see the spunk still there.

    Reply
  15. What’s life if you can’t kiss your dog? Get better soon. You’re fab. You were kind to me over that SG nonsense, and I want you to know I will always appreciate it.

    Reply
  16. You sound like you are feeling pretty good. I’m glad.

    Reply
  17. Chemotherapy!!! I missed something. I had no idea how serious things were. Please, all the best thoughts and prayers go to you right now. And congratulations on the results.

    Reply
  18. Marybeth, another one sending you positive “vibes”. So I think that has about the whole world covered!

    Reply
  19. It’s so good to hear from you. I’m glad you’re doing better. Sending you big kisses.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

