RSS Feed

Catching Up

Posted on

First: !!!Congratulations to Mary T, who was married yesterday!!! I love new beginnings and I love Mary T. I’m happy for her!

It’s been so long since I’ve posted and I haven’t been able to write much. I am undergoing an intense course of chemo and daily radiation and I’ve yet to go through the worst of it. I go back into the hospital next week for another 5 days of chemo. The drugs I am on make it hard to think and hard to type so the lights have been out here at The Stitchery.

However at the real-life Stitchery the lights have been on. I have been able to sew. I can not sit very long and then I have to find some work that allows me to stand: cut something new or go press at the ironing board. It’s a passion that has gotten me out the door every day and keeps me living through an unpleasant bodily experience.

I’d like to share the beautiful double georgette fabric that has taken over my thoughts since it arrived from GorgeousFabrics.com:

GRG160_tn

This color combination has been playing cat and mouse with me for a month. The mouse is winning! I had originally planned a Kimono and Obi (fabric for the Obi not yet located) from the Simplicity June Collins Designs II Kimono 5839 pattern but I realized that the animals would eventually snag my beautiful fabric and I dropped the idea. I’m still searching for a design that will take advantage of the beautiful drape of the fabric but yet be sporty enough to wear to work under a casual jacket or to dinner with a wonderful duster. The fabric seems to want to be palazzo pants but those are not a great look on me. I am thinking about a wider leg pant though.

I have some creme and some salmon wool crepe that invite a jacket to be made with cream trim on the lapels…so much of what I’ve been working on would go well with this jacket. And the muse continues.

Meanwhile back in realityland I have made up the Hot Patterns T-Shirt dress with good results. I made the lower neckline and long sleeved version. I used a buttermilk from EOS but wished I had used a fabric with a bit more substance so it would balloon more nicely around the waist rather than fall onto my high hip and hang off the back like a melting ice cream. I had a picture around here somewhere so I’ll post it when I find it (maybe!).

Then I made the Loes Hinse Tank dress (using the lower neckline and adding sleeves) from a wonderful knitted fabric purchased a few years ago. The fabric is unique: it is two layers of a sheer nylon knitted through to catch the top layer in the areas that look white. Sandwiched in between are strands of muli-colored threads! It feels wonderful on and is not so thin I have to wear a slip.

front2

I raised the placement of the elastic in the Loes Hinse design or it would have hit me at the waist and used CJPatterns’ BaseWear II sleeves. I also removed 3″ through the sleeves and bodice.

Both patterns fit well through the shoulders and upper bodice after tweaking and both are what they are: simple quick dresses, not all that attractive but the accessories and simplicity make up for the lack of shaping in the dress pattern. And they help me use up stash of which I foolishly ordered just small yardages.

I finished the Ann Sui blouse from this pattern: Vogue 2912. I made view C using silk georgette. It took me 2 weeks to finish it! I just don’t have the energy for taking photos, uploading, etc, so maybe my HusPartner will help me this weekend with the photos for a review at TSD (TheSewingDivas.wordpress.com). I think this pattern is lovely and fits quite well.

One of the side effects of my chemo drugs is that the fingers don’t work well and the skin on my finger tips are smooth and almost sensationless. That georgette just fluttered out of my hands repeatedly! It was a real exercise in patience. I have a large stash of sheer silks for summer so I hope I can get them done while the weather permits wearing them!

Now I’m working on a pair of pants using Vogue 2956. I have made a slight alteration for the high hip and will apply the waistband tomorrow. Upon try-on, sewn straight from the pattern with only a 3/8 increase in the back side length for high hip and a scoop in the crotch, I believe these pants just might fit quite well. Perhaps HusPartner will catch a photo of them as well this weekend.

Also coming sometime in the next 2 months is a review of a wonderful, as yet unpublished new book, The Collection, A Novel, by Gioia Diliberto. This is the must read for sewing goddesses later this summer. I promise you, if you’ve a passion for sewing this book will delight!

love
Mary Beth

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Mary Beth, I wish you all the best for the coming weeks.
    The dress, btw, looks very comfy and I like the colours on you.. very springy.
    Good Luck!

    Reply
  2. You sure are productive for someone with no energy! Glad to hear that you are feeling like sewing. I love the dress – it’s very flattering.

    Reply
  3. MaryBeth, you are in my thoughts.
    That sounds like a most interesting fabric, hard to tell from the pic on your dress, which looks nice and very comfy.
    Good luck working with the georgette and silks.

    Reply
  4. Glad to hear you are able to keep sewing. Sounds like you have accomplished quite a bit. Your dress looks cool and comfy.

    Best wishes for the coming week.

    Reply
  5. Well, MB, despite everything you are going through, you look fabulous, darling! I just love that dress on you. Chin up, girl, I know you’ll come through all this stronger and more inspiring than ever!

    Reply
  6. It’s wonderful that you have something to keep you buys, and that you can really enjoy the results. You look fabulous in your picture – no one would know what you’re physically going through. You’re in my thoughts.

    Reply
  7. Thank you MB. I’m just getting caught up and
    I’m so happy to see you’ve been able to sew!
    I love the dress in the picure. It looks so
    good on you. Stay strong through this chemo,
    I will be thinking about you!

    Reply
  8. Kathi Sorensen

    I have been working on multiple muslins for this pattern and am just about ready to give it up. I am short and not thin (easier to say than stout or stocky) and the original muslin looked like an ill fitting sack on me. I then did a fba and added some darts, but ended up with a “bustle” in the back (eek). I think I’m just going to find a nice little a-line dress pattern and give up on this one. Yours looks very nice on you.
    All the best to you- take care.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

