RSS Feed

The Knitting Room

Posted on

Oh dear! While I’ve been sewing my wardrobe (I make everything I wear except for bras, shoes and hosery) and not knitting…it became evident that the knitting room, filled with five machines, a day bed, dresser, TV stand and tapes and the library was not getting used.

Oh dear…while I was in the hospital the last time I found out that my company had sewn products on back order and my HusPartner had interviewed another woman to be the sewist and had let some of my stock go home with her to “try it out and see if she could sew a straight seam”.

Oh dear…those products can’t be made on a home machine and all my stock is in varying stages of finish so the items needed could be made up quickly, had I just been told, but no one had talked to me about anything.

I’m available by fax, phone at two different numbers, email, instant messenger and esp for HusPartner, in person every day and every night. Except when I’m in the hospital. Then, I don’t much want to talk with anyone except HusPartner and dog.

So, I couldn’t help with the physical work but a dear friend and employee boxed up my sewing room at the company and the industrial machines as well as the home machines for certain details and all the stock and supplies are being moved into

the (former) knitting room.

How sad!

I did bring home the Brother 830 and its ribber so maybe I can get organized to do some knitting at night. HusPartner doesn’t mind the noise, he actually enjoys watching me work.

But he can’t give my department away!!! I’m even going to store the whole inventory of finished sewn products at The Stitchery. This way if any orders for sewn products come in they have to contact me.

And it’s so nice to have everything under one roof.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. Wow, I think you have been SPAMMED, my friend …

    Don’t be too hard on him. He was just trying to “protect you” a bit, is all!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Lorna, I just deleted that comment leading to making millions, hehehehehe. I was too hard on him, I’m afraid. My blood pressure went through the roof but I know he was just trying to protect me. The major issue I have is that the employees know that he doesn’t tell me important things and they are supposed to contact me rather than rely on him. So now they’ll have to contact me if they want to fill orders in a timely manner.

    Reply
  3. I know how I would feel so don’t be hard on yoursefl!
    love
    colin

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

