RSS Feed

The Real Stitchery

Posted on

Today I want to let those new to my blog know that The Stitchery is a little old house that is soley dedicated to sewing, knitting and commercial embroidery. It is located about 20 minutes from my home and I go there every day that I can to sew, run the payroll and other administrative duties for the company belonging to my family, machine knit, and do the embroidery jobs I have on order.

It’s there that I usually handle the personal finances as well so one room functions as an office for me.

One room is the cutting table, patterns, clam press and ironing board with a gravity feed industrial iron that steams quite well.

One room is all the fabric and trim stash and personal sewing machine, serger and coverstitch.

One room is now going to be the commercial sewing room, invading the primacy of the knitting machines. There are two industrial Merrows, and a few domestic machines. The two Passups are still in place but the Studio 360 and the Brother 830 are pushed together by the door. I think they’d still be usable with some rearranging.

Yesterday I misspoke: home with me came the Brother 940, an electronic with patterning capabilities.

Click here to read the beginning of this blog: Welcome to The Stitchery

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. How nice that is. I have often thought that having a place of one’s own is to be desired. And having a separate place to work keeps life from intruding and stealing away one’s time. Good for you. You continue to inspire.

    Reply
  2. I’m curious to know if you ever got that creped yarn to work out as the St John Knit fabric?

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

