RSS Feed

Amazing Speed

I wanted to title this submission “Hopes and Dreams” but the dreams are coming true so fast that it could only be “Amazing Speed”!

My husband has hired a Directress/Head Teacher who’s belief it is that she has just been handed the fulfillment of her dreams: to open and run a school. And she has translated the hopes and dreams into action in just one week’s time. Did I mention that she’s absolutely fabulous and so happy to be challenged?

I’ve opened a wordress blog in the new school’s name *just in case* a blog would be useful to the school. There’s nothing there right now but it is located at BestBeginnings.wordpress.com.

The newly remodeled daycare building has been visited by the requisite state agencies, all of whom have approved the projected school layout and activity centers, and the building and improvements (I’m sure I’m leaving out a category of inspection or two in this rundown) and all that’s left is licensing. The licensing packet has been delivered to us and we will have it filled out presented to the State in a meeting Monday, Sept 23rd, I believe.

An Open House or two are planned for the last week in September and the target opening date is the first week of October.

I have to get the 2″ foam for the cribs and changing tables and cover them with vinyl, then make slip covers in something soft. We have a local company that makes the foam, Volunteer Foam, so I’ll finally get to see what that company’s all about.

I am anxiously awaiting a bolt of darling blue and white checked flannel numbered 2-8 from Ressy. Alas, the coordinating fabric of stuffed bears on a blue background with the wordng “Sweet Friends”, number 2-7, had already been sold out to someone else outside the coop.

In the meantime, since we are moving through the system so quickly, at an unheard of speed at any rate, I’ll use sheets for the slip covers to go over the vinyl coverings.

I have also boldly ordered the acrylic (with a hint of nylon) yarns to knit receiving blankets and the new Little Angels Bably Blankets pattern diskette from Charlene Schaeffer of the KnitKnackShop.com in Peru, Indiana. Charlene kindly advised me on the yarns that will withstand multiple washings. Thanks, Charlene! I know so little about the “grandmother arts” and I am so blessed to have this outlet my unfullfilled crafterly instincts.

LittleAngels

The wording on the white and blue blanket says, “Guardian Angels Watching From Above, Bless This Child with Faith Hope & Love”. I’ll also do the blanket in rose, blue and white that says, “Please Bless Daddy, Please Bless Mommy”. I think they are darling blankets and I feel the parents of the nursery age children will, too. How darling are these blankets??!!

Thus I have set for myself a task about which I know very little but will have to master. I’ve made my own deadlines and I’ll have to learn it, no more messing around with accounting, equipping, and commercial sewing. I’ll be knitting. I have to visualize myself doing it and stop being intimidated by all the gadgetry of the machines. Hopefully I’ll have something to show you in the next week or so.

It will be wonderful to actually produce something useful!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. SUCH WONDERFUL NEWS! This wonderful little house has such love in it that it was meant to be! Now all the work will be enjoyed by all those wee ones …

    Reply
  2. Yes, Lorna, it’s been an amazing unfolding. I am tired, though, and my house is in shambles! My husband has just left on a sales trip so I’ll get some rest for a change. Ahhhhhh, peace and quiet!

    On the morning he left at 4:30am, I jumped in the car to run to the school only to find his suitcase in the driveway, all lonely and left behind. So I had another task: find a mall along his trip route so he could buy some underwear, toiletries and shoes…hehehehehehehe. Gotta love it!

    Reply
  3. WOW! How exciting! What a great end to your summer and all the hard work you’ve put into this. I’m very excited for you!

    Reply
  4. gosh, it’s good to read such good things.
    love
    colin

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

