RSS Feed

How to Make Upholstered Coverings for Crib and Changing Table

Posted on

Please refer to yesterday’s post for more details: Preschool Work: Machine Knitted Baby Blanket & Coverings for Mattress Pads

Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing, 1978 edition

book

This book was revised and reissued in 2003 but the furniture section was removed. The sewing instructions are essentially the same, updated to include new fabrics, tools and techniques but there is very little home dec and no furniture section. I often cross reference the two editions just to be sure I have thought through the project I’m working on. So buying the used 1978 edition has proved a good purchase for me.

cut

Lying in bed the night before I had to begin the crib and changing table projects I could see the exact outcome I desired but couldn’t find anything specific in any of my upholstry books the next morning. Once I opened this book I knew this was the technique I needed.

inst

However for my projects I made the book’s “top” become my “bottom”

inst2

and made the bottom into two sections with seam allowances for either a zipper or a velcro opening the full length of the pads

velcro zip

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. I prefer that edition of the book! Your preschool looks wonderful!

    Reply
  2. The preschool looks gorgeous, bright and with beautiful furniture. The knitted blankets are so cute and your work shows your love of sewing/ knitting and being a decorator.You did a great job.

    Reply
  3. This edition is often available at thrift stores. I have the 1995 edition and it has a home furnishing section, but not the tailoring. My book doesn’t have as detailed instructions on making a cushion cover either.

    Reply
  4. I’m so glad I have the “78” edition too.

    Reply
  5. I have the Portuguese edition of this book! My mother had it for many years and decided to give it to me as a gift! I love it!

    Reply
  6. Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Front Porch Sewing « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

