RSS Feed

St Johns Trunk Show

Thanks to the St Johns site hosted by Nieman Marcus.com that sends out email alerts I am off to see the Resort Collection Trunk Show at Gus Mayers in Nashville today. Yay!!! And I only have to drive for an hour and a half.

St Johns

The Resort Collection seems to have the casual styles that I prefer for my daily life at The Stitchery and in business: knit dresses, slacks and jackets, and occasionally, skirt suits. Maybe I’ll learn some fabulous knit techniques, too, just in case I ever get to knit for my personal use.

And if I do get to knit up a St Johns/Chanel style jacket the place for buttons will be Nancy Erickson’s Fashion Sewing Group She is offering gold colored metallic buttons this month, difficult to describe because they are not knots, but scrolled and “knot-like” and “French” in two sizes.

And Good News! Due to the collaboration of Nancy’s daughter and friends there will be a totally redesigned website launched later this month so check back if you’re a fan, too.

You can use this link to sign up for the St Johns emails, too, if you wish. St Johns

Meanwhile, at The Stitchery this past week, in between admin duties I’ve been making new pants. I’ve lost enough weight that the time has come with no question. But wait! I just heard that new research shows that the extra fluff at the waist and hips contains high amounts of Omega3 fatty acids…so I shouldn’t be celebrating my new lightness of being???

Oh well, I will, anyway. There is still plenty to draw from.

I have been using the Joyce Murphy pattern, Pants1 pattern for years but had altered my tracing beyond recognition so for the first muslin (who am I kidding, I can’t afford muslins, every thing has to end up wearable) I went straight back to the pattern itself to cut from. OK my measurements are smaller than the patterns measurements now so, knowing that I’d have alterations to do, I dove in.

But new body, new fitting problems and I have different fitting challenges than I did 18 pounds ago. Hey, don’t get me wrong: I’m loving the challenge. And I’ll have to do more fixing before I can wear them. At the moment there’s too much fabric throughout.

What a lovely thing to be able to say 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Gus Mayer! I remember when we had one of those
    in BR when I was little. Nice to know they
    still exist. Anyway, congrats on the new pants
    challenge. Don’t listen to that gibberish –
    smalller is healthier, period. It’s just that
    it’s better to have more on the hips than
    below the heart. Have fun!!
    Mary

    Reply
  2. Good luck with the pants! And thanks for the link to the St John’s line. Nice!

    Reply
  3. Well, I suppose you can’t complain about having to refit the pants in a *smaller* size! Enjoy!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Reporting In ~ Fashion Revived! « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

