RSS Feed

Reporting In ~ Fashion Revived!

I didn’t see the St John’s Trunk Show at the Gus Mayer store in Nashville, afterall. I had made an appointment for the afternoon back home so I needed to “do” Nashville within a few hours. All would have been well had the store personnel not told me that the show was at 10 am. I got there on time and browsed the store for almost an hour with no sign of the Trunk Show so I needed to leave and hit a few other stores before driving home again. It turns out that the show was to start at 11:30. I’m sorry about that but more important snoop shopping waited for me nearby.

If you want to see the show click on “News & Events”, and then on “Event Schedule”. I could give you the link to the schedule page but then you’d miss Anglina Jolie being the St Johns Knits model on the front page of St Johns Knits

OK, so with an hour’s worth of browsing time among fashions by designer lines such as Lela Rose, Michael Kors, Peter Som, David Rodrigues, Feraud, Burberry, Zang Toi, Cynthia Steffe, Nanette Lepore, and of course St Johns, the time was well spent. This fashion deprived country girl got what she’d come for.

I realized that I didn’t need to love some of the orphans and oddities in my stash, I only needed to use them as trims on other more worthy pieces.

And the jacket, pants and white shirt I wore got lots of compliments. One lady thought the jacket was a St John’s piece. Oh, my head swelled! Emma One Sock and Fabric Depot in Seattle, fabric sellers, and HotPatterns, sewing patterns, should be thanked as well.

These were the review photos for the shirt and jacket worn buttoned up over them: (Click to enlarge)

greatwhite.jpg shrunken.jpg

I don’t believe I’ve ever reviewed or photographed the black wool pants I wore. They were made quickly for a trip to Michigan and pictorially neglected, but the pattern was my altered Pants1 pattern by JSM mentioned yesterday. The fabric, a nice solid wool was made by Pendleton Mills and lined with silver charmeuse. Love those pants!

I even got to fondle the knitted fur jackets by Paula Lishman. Darn, if I’d only had $3000 one of those coats in a white fur, would have been mine had I lost my head and dreamed that I had a place to wear it. That is the sweetest, lightest, softest fur I’ve ever fondled. Other fur designers represented by the Gus Mayers store were Adrienne Landau and Louis Feraud. Such soft, luscious stuff and great shapes.

I guess I’m just a classic-style-lover under all my casual exterior. None-the-less, I’m not sure I could actually wear a fur as some of my best friends are fur-bearing beings. I don’t think I could look them in the eyes, know what I mean?

As I browsed the $200 to $800 pants I realized that I had on a pair with thick charmeuse lining, instead of china silk and that the fit was perfect for me, only slightly too lose. So I decided to lean on my own devices and head back to The Stitchery as soon as possible to implement some new trims and tricks and off I went to shop for shoes and kitchen items that can’t be purchased locally.

The only thing I would have purchased at the store, had they had it, would have been the new Hermes fragrance, Kelly Caleshe. I adore the deep leather scent that lingers with this clean frangrance. So I’ll have to order it online from the Hermes.com site.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

5 responses »

  1. Oh I know exactly what you mean about the fur. There is no fur in the world that is not more beautiful on the living animal it belongs to. I’m for faux fur all the way. And kudos for your clothes passing for designer togs; THAT is what I like to hear. Good patterns + good fabric = we can do it!

    Reply
  2. You deserve the compliments on your outfit. Very classy.

    Reply
  3. Which HP jacket is that one? Somehow I missed this post when you first put it up …

    Reply
  4. Lorna: It’s HP’s Shrunken Cardigan. I reviewed it at PatternReview.com almost 2 years (!!!) ago http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=12464

    Reply
  5. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

