RSS Feed

Jacket #2 w/Vest: Menswear Pinstrip

Posted on

You know where all this is leading, right? Suits for my husband…I keep asking him, “So, do you want one now?” And he always replies, “Let me lose some weight first”. That’s because I had made custom shirts for him in Fall 2006 that he immediately could not wear because he gained weight while on his sales trips. Restaurant food is deadly on the diet! And so his shirts remain on the hangers…but I digress…

jackvest

It’s such a pain doing photos by myself and I didn’t realize that one pocket flap was tucked inside the pocket. Boy I love having so many pockets!

My bound buttonholes improved but these were the first welted pockets I had done in, oh, 30 years! Uh oh, did I just write that?

total
I’m fiddling with the pants that match this outfit right now, trying to decide if the leg’s hem width is too wide. And just how much time and patience I have left.

At the same time that I cut, fused and stitched the 1st jacket I also did this one, leaving just the shoulder pads and lining to do. So of course this is the same pattern, Material Things Classic Jacket however I lengthened the sleeve by 3/8″ and cut a slightly smaller sleeve cap. Now I need to make white shirts with the proper sleeve length for this jacket. I’m thinking something a bit frilly with lace and I have so many patterns to choose from.

jackside

The vest is unaltered, McCalls 5186. I got a “wild hair” to use some golden dupioni for the back, just because of the color.

vfront

vback

Oh yes, and just for kicks, I made real pockets on the vest, rather than just welts applied to the top of the vest fabric. More pockets!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. MaryBeth, I am liking these jackets…a lot! I have had a Vogue classic jacket pattern since forever, I will need to pull it out to see if the details are similar. I especially like this look with the vest and jacket and yes white shirts, can’t have too many of those.

    Reply
  2. Yessiree! very tasty indeed. what a great jacket and vest!

    Reply
  3. summersetbanks

    Very smart job! I like the fact that you didn’t use the same buttons for both the jacket and the vest. The two pieces are related, but not exactly matched like a man’s suit. I’m sure you’ll come up with a smashing blouse to compliment the suit.

    Reply
  4. Wow, a lot of work must have gone into that! It still looks very feminine on you. Nice!!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations on the jacket and the vest. I love this style of dressing and also you have very well. I adore the gold dupión on the back of the vest. A big hug from Barcelona. Paco

    Reply
  6. Love it! But sewing for your dh. Brave woman.

    Reply
  7. This jacket is amazing!!! I have to take a jacket class by Shannon soon!!!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

