RSS Feed

3 Piece Suit

Posted on

The pants were draped, rather than cut from a pattern. Using my measurements I chalked out the cutting lines on the cloth with large seam allowances. Then the pants were basted together, draped on my body and fitted to be a very close fit. I was (and still am) in the process of losing weight and pants were already fully constructed with a men’s depth pockets extending to the fly, self fabric facings and a full lining when I added the elastic at the back.

I am not pleased with the forward swing of the jacket fronts and would do things a bit differently but for a first not-so-tightly-woven gabardine suit I am fairly happy. A tighter twill weave would do much towards reducing the wrinkles from wear. And next time I will use a weft insertion fusible for a softer finish. Too many construction details show through with this french fuse. But best results with gabardine requires hymo as an underlining, I’d say.

The excellent thing about this Fearless Notched Collar Jacket pattern by Cecilia Podolak’s Material Things is that fitting finese through the bust and instructions for fully bagging the lining.

suit

pvsd
What the heck is that speck in the corner of the vest pocket??? Sigh! I’ll have to investigate….

pbk

psd

This may be my last post for some time. Pleae don’t worry, I have to go back to commercial sewing for a bit.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

11 responses »

  1. Very nice enwemble. I think you can drop the whole jacket front from the shoulder at the side neck. Its a subtle but easy fix. For the next one…

    Over all impression: this lady means business!

    Reply
  2. PS Cain’t spel neither

    Reply
  3. Oh! Mary Beth, does not put defects, the suit is fantastic with the three pieces. You know?, Spain in the male three-piece suits call “TERNO” is a beautiful word that comes from the times of the painter “Goya” and his paintings of the feast of the bulls. ” Congratulations on the final outcome. A hug. Paco

    Reply
  4. O.K. So this is the best way to take a blogging hiatus “leave ’em wanting more” This is fantabulous, I don’t care what you say. You look positively smashing. You go sister!!

    Reply
  5. Absolutely marvelous!

    Reply
  6. A very masuline outfit but on you it looks very feminine. I am also amazed that you made the pants just from draping. Fantastic!

    Reply
  7. You draped the pants? They’re gorgeous. The overall effect of the suit is strong, yet still feminine. Great job.

    Reply
  8. What a gorgeous outfit you made. I have not been able to get to your blog for weeks. Then I found a connection in Summerset’s blog that worked! I am so glad I got to see what you have been up to. I don’t know why I couldn’t get to see your blog. Hopefully it won’t happen again.

    Reply
  9. Wonderful! I love three piece suits and your creation is outstanding! You look really good in this outfit!

    Reply
  10. So when you’ve lost the extra weight, let me know and I will send you my address…I probably can squeeze into that amazing 3 pc suit. 🙂 Yes, you definitely know how to do downtime! And it has been a wonderful treat to come and see these amazing pieces!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

