RSS Feed

Retro Style ’44 Butterick 6700

Little ol lady in her new silk crepe lounging pjs (“Some People Are Shameless”):

r1

The pants are basic: Peggy Sager’s Silhouettes 3100 “Laurie’s Pants” without the overskirt. These pants required no alterations beyond raising the waist an inch or so. They are an almost perfect cut for me. I’d tweak more if they were daywear through the crotch curve.

The top is OOP (Out Of Print) Butterick 6700. It’s a shame it’s OOP as this is a great pattern.

B6700

I cut a 16 without making a muslin, ignored the facings and turned and topstitched all exposed seams, used french seams in interior joining seams and relieved the stash of a piece of silk crepe from an internet discounter. I used 1980’s style humongous shoulder pads to keep it stylin’ 1944.

Here’s a close-up so you can see the details

r3

Shameless little ol’ lady in her new pjs…

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

17 responses »

  1. Want it!! Waah!!!

    Reply
  2. They’re cute and feminine – no shame there! I have that pattern, too! I made a white silk shantung blouse complete with the flounce and bow.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful, MB, just beautiful! And very decadent.

    Reply
  4. Lovely lounging outfit.

    Reply
  5. The way your are standing there your reminded me of your mother. She would be proud – just beautiful, elegant and comfortable at the same time!!! Kudos, MB!

    Reply
  6. LOL, Janie, and I’m talking like her, too. She and I had jokes about being a little ‘ol ladies, and the cartoon character Maxine was her hero. I had never heard of Maxine until she sent me a Maxine Christmas Card. LOL!!!

    Reply
  7. (”Some People Are Shameless”):

    While looking fantastic! I mean Mary Beth, some people would wear this to an evening out! LOL…. Do you have time even to wear lounge wear?
    Nice.

    Reply
  8. What a great pair of pjs! And I love how you used regular garment patterns to get such a kewl outfit!

    Reply
  9. Ah!!! I just wondered the other day why I hadn’t heard anything from you…for some reason your feed was missing from my bloglines list! Not sure why, but I fixed it now. And…wow, girlfriend, you look great! love that comfy looking outfit; silk PJ’s have been on my ‘I wanna make’ list for a while now; just waiting on a real ‘deal’ on some suitable charmeuse 😉

    Reply
  10. Fabulous, Mary Beth! You look wonderful in the picture!

    Reply
  11. Beautiful PJs! Just luscious.

    Reply
  12. Mary Beth .- you look beautiful with this suit. Nice outfit. It reminds me of the designs leading actresses in the 50’s, as Katherine Hepburn in movies. Congratulations on the result so magnificent. Ah! I love the fabric of polka (very Spanish). A hug, Paco

    Reply
  13. Pretty fabulous for jammies! Love the style, the color, everything.

    Reply
  14. They are just the nicest PJ’s I have ever seen! Tres chic!

    Reply
  15. Those things are gorgeous! Mine if I use them for inspiration! I love classy Pj’s!

    Reply
  16. Jacque LaCacque

    You were quite the looker in your day uh ? How old are yo are you anyway ?

    Reply
  17. I absolutely love these pjs! You look wonderful in them and they look so comfy too.
    I want a pair just like yours!
    Sound a little childish – I don’t care – I just love them.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

