RSS Feed

Retro Style ’48 Butterick B5152

B5152

I made this up quickly to test the sizing but I didn’t have enough fabric to make the tie nor cut the full length of the gown. I cut a size 16, altered to raise the waist and cut down the skirt width and length to fit the fabric I had for the test garment. Here’s how morning looks at my house these days, the unvarnished truth….

3

Those of us who are in charge of doing the laundry know when a robe and tie are in the washtub the tie often wraps around everything in the load and the result is massive wrinkles. I put a buttonhole in each tie end and a button at the waist’s side seam. It’s a fix that makes it easy to find the tie in a hurry blurry morning and the ties can be removed for laundry day.

I also used buttons and button holes instead of the called-for hook and eye closing at the wrap fronts.

And, yup, I didn’t button any of the front wrap buttons for these pictures. No excuses for it either.

I didn’t follow the directions for construction of the yoked areas as I love the “burrito” method taught by Margaret Islander in her Shirts DVD. The result is so neat and more stable than hand stitches. See if you can pick up her videos at a sewing expo where the prices may be discounted. Soooo worth it!

The really great thing about this pattern is how well it is drafted and how well the fronts stay closed. It’s not too low cut in the bodice and the wrapped sections stay closed in this crisp table cloth cotton fabric. The lace used to outline the shoulder yokes was a freebie sent by an internet discounter years ago.

On the pattern tissue I shortened the bodice by 5/8″ on a lark (which means no measurements involved)(sewing by the eye-ball method!) but won’t when I make it up in a more luxurious fabric.
bodice

Sadly, I did not have enough fabric to make a tie in the back waist area. The tie is an absolute necessity to the overall design and my short skinny one just doesn’t provide the thrills that a long graceful one would.

I also didn’t add the shoulder pads which are called for in this pattern with extended shoulders.
back

I also suggest that anyone trying this pattern give thought to raising the armscye by at least .5″ and correspondingly cut the sleeve cap down.

I like this pattern! Here’s the link if you wish to see more pattern information:

Butterick Dressing Gown

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. That lounge gown looks and fit great. A nice outfit for the early mornings or lazy evenings.

    Reply
  2. Nice! The buttons/buttonholes are a great idea. The way the whole thing was drafted and how it fits together is really interesting. They don’t always make them like they used to.

    Reply
  3. Everybody should let out their inner Joan Crawford once in a while … I love the look and that idea about the button on tie is so simple yet so effective. Thanks much for this.

    Reply
  4. Beautiful dress, MB! Just gorgeous! I like your vintage-inspired creations – they always seem so luxurious.

    Reply
  5. Mary Beth .- I see that continuing with the style retro. ” I love it. Thank you for sharing these models so wonderful. Hugs. Paco

    Reply
  6. Absolutely beautiful.

    Reply
  7. Wow MB you are looking so trim in thes shots,
    and you say you’ve lost more? I am so
    jealous. Soooo good to get to catch up with
    you!
    M

    Reply
  8. Virginia Harrison

    Mary Beth, I love it. Thanks for the pictures!….an old internet friend…… Virginia

    Reply
  9. Lovely robe. Thanks for reviewing it.

    Reply
  10. Thank you for the review! I just bought this pattern and I was afraid to make it (still a newbie at sewing), but after your review and completion of a felt robe for a two yr old, I feel like I am almost ready to try it!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

