RSS Feed

Silence and then there was Ralph Lauren

Posted on

Silence has reigned here, I know.

And I haven’t been sewing even though I should be. My commercial orders are falling behind in production but I’ve been struggling with this flu for the past 3 weeks while I’ve also been traveling to trade shows.

I am amazed at how sick one can get when one has to work with young children and has no immunity. In self defense I will abruptly end my career as a daycare Administrator who is active in the classroom!

And I have one more week long trip to make before I’ll be free to go back to The Stitchery for a good clean-up, commercial sewing exercise and then a re-start on the wardrobe.

I am almost at my target weight so nothing made in the past 5 years fits…I’ve been hauling out suits from the 1990’s to tide me over but have given up on making pants that fit for longer than 2 weeks.

Yes, I do have clothes to wear thanks to finding that Talbot’s Petite RTW jeans fit me almost perfectly! It’s been years since I’ve have shopped in a retail store for me and had never tried a Talbots before but I was desperate.

Pendleton’s wool pants fit in a size 10 petite but the waist band is too tight so I wandered down the road to Talbots and found that their size 12 was really comfy. And then I lost a few more pounds so now the 12s become too loose during the day’s wear. But at least I am clad for the time being. Jeans with a nice suit jacket seem to work in my milieu.

I have been online so little in the past 4 weeks I haven’t seen any reviews of the Ralph Lauren Fall runway show but I loved it again this year. Ralph just does it for me.

Have a look! Ralph Lauren RTWFall2008

On the upper side of glamour Prada hit it right IMHO this year. Nude PowerDry would be just the perfect underlining and turtle neck cami

I vant to be lace encrusted!

Prada from Style.com Fall RTW2008

Happy dreaming!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Silence and then there was Ralph Lauren | Online Reviews

  2. OMG, I’m so in love with that lace.
    Must.go.look.
    Meanwhile, I hope congrats are in order for losing the weight – you’re trying to lose right? Are you following a program or just cutting back? I so desperately need to lose at least the 10 I’ve put on since last August.
    Hope you’re feeling all better soon – that flu has been brutal this year and has hit a lot of people hard.

    Reply
  3. thanks for the RL link! I’ve only looked over a couple of photos of runway shows for next fall and haven’t been terribly impressed; there were several things on the RL show that I thought were honestly wearable. Especially for someone who does as much black as I do (winkgrin).

    I seriously loved those suits with the long,full, flowy skirts…especially the purple one. Gorgeous!

    And nice to know I can use my oversized collar patterns for next year, too…the ones that I bought this year and didn’t get around to making.

    And I second the weight loss congrats! I’m looking forward to seeing your new wardrobe; I know it will be totally FAB!

    Reply
  4. Hi Marji and Lisa (waving)!
    Dr’s orders to lose weight. My bod is just not happy with having to process fats and sugars these days so I cut those out and the weight just started to fall off. That means I cheat some and don’t lose as fast as I could but I smile more 🙂

    Reply
  5. Glad you’re back, MB! Thank you for the link to RL’s collection – I love the hats and the long purple coat. And congratulations on the weight loss.

    Reply
  6. Nice to see you pop up! I will have to check out the RL show, when I have a moment. Good for you for following dr.’s orders to lose weight. So many don’t and it complicates their health issues.

    Reply
  7. MARY BETH .- Care flu …… ufff. I am sure that R. Lauren has something for you. Thank you for your e-mail of 14 February, a lot of love for you too. Paco

    Reply
  8. Thank you for visiting my site. I just love yours! I had been avoiding the fall ’08 shows but I loved the RL link! Love those blues and plaids. Congrats on the weight loss–that’s a serious effort but you seem to be having tremendous success.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

