RSS Feed

Prayers Answered: A New Director for Best Beginnings!

Posted on

I just have to share: Our little preschool has a new Director! She accepted the job last night and will come onboard full time on April 14th, with unannounced dropins to meet and greet during the intervening days.

Why should you care about this?

Well, because I should actually get my garment sewing and knitting life back and be able to show you completed work.

New Director was HusPartner’s first choice when he was hiring last September but for personal family reasons she chose to continue on as a teacher of the 3-4 year old class at her current school.

But she didn’t forget Best Beginnings and the road not taken. When HusPartner called, she was ready. She was the Director for many years at a another little preschool so she knows how and what to do.

When she heard all the jobs I was doing for the school she actually asked what the first Director had been doing all day. Seems I was not only the Administrator but doing most of the Director’s job as well.

No wonder I’ve been overwhelmed.

I simply let HusPartner take the primary role of Adminsitrator at the school for the past 2 months. Even though he wrote up the old Director was almost daily (insubordination, failure to follow instructions, etc, etc) she was finally given 2 week’s notice on Monday the 31st for telling a staff they must not speak to us, the owners, about anything. I won’t go into all the details but it involved a serious health violation, lying, and disregard of school regulations.

Gag orders on employees? Not in our world. We obviously tolerate a lot and still work to correct the behaviors. Would you work for someone who told you you couldn’t try to solve problems?

Why would the old Director, who had been given the job of her dreams, the money to bring it to pass, mess it up so pointedly? I can’t even imagine the driving force behind this trainwreck. Every day I hear more awful things about myself from the staff. The point was to keep them scared of me so they wouldn’t take me into their confidence, I guess. It failed. But I must admit to feeling a pain in my heart at the things I have been heaing. Oh well, I’m glad the staff feel comfortable enough with me to tell me.

A new day is coming. I am just now getting used to the thought of returning to sewing and knitting. Do I see summer right around the corner? I’ve had my nose to the grindstone so long I hardly know what my heart desires.

Oh, and even better: No tumor!!! This information has taken a back seat to all the school’s chaos and crises. Can I really be cancer free??? Wow, the richness of these many blessings!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. That’s fantastic! It is a shame you’ve had to deal with all the negativity, but it sounds like things are back on track and going to be improving.

    No Tumor? That’s the not just the icing on the cake, but the cake and ice cream, too!

    Reply
  2. Yay!!! Yay and Yay again!!!

    Reply
  3. So glad the craziness is over at the school. Also congratulations on the good result of your latest exam.

    Reply
  4. Good for you, MB! I’m all ready to see your new creations.

    Reply
  5. That is great news! I’m glad you’re not having to deal with problems, or tumors. Enjoy your sewing!

    Reply
  6. All good news, and I’m sure you’re most happy with the last, to be tumor-free. Looking forward to the summer dresses!

    Reply
  7. MB – all of your news is sooooo good today! I am happy that all of this is working out for you!

    Reply
  8. I think that all the stars were in alignment last week, or something. there is good news everywhere I turn.
    Big hugs and smiles for the no-tumor news. 😉
    And I’m sad to hear that you’ve been maligned, but happy that your director issues are getting sorted and that better times are ahead.

    Reply
  9. Mary Beth .- I am very happy for your good health. Good and bad memories always becomes “hope”. A big hug for you with all my heart. Paco

    Reply
  10. MaryBeth – Congratulations on your fantastic medical news. I am so happy for you. I just had to chime in and tell you how happy I was to hear this news. And congrats on the on losing your director job too. As always your sense of humor comes through!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

