RSS Feed

Straight Legged Pants: Vogue 1034 SB’s Jeans Again

Posted on

Posted by Mary Beth at The Stitchery on June 20, 2008

I laid the pattern for the legs of the jeans on the grain line and used a ruler to cut straight down the grain to the hemline starting at about 3″ below the crotch line. I made the front and back pant legs equally wide with a total hemline of 20″. That is enough width for my silhouette. Anything more and I look shorter and wider, not a good look. It borders on looking like a mushroom.

I’m using the same water resistent fabric used on Dear HusPartner’s Canoe Trip Happy Pants. This is a soft and silky microfiber I just love to feel as I work with it. However I made a bad decision to do welted slash pockets at the front hips: they gap horribly when I walk. Not much utility in these pockets: everything in them would immediately fall out upon sitting down so I had to improvise. Next time I’ll know better than to let the slash be 6″ long.

There’s not much time to do this post and I’m not 100% pleased with how these turned out so I’ll just shut up and show you the pictures:
Front without belt
full
Back without Belt
fullback
Belted Front: Notice the single welt pocket on each side front
front2
Here you can see the gapping happenig on the pocket and the reason for the addition of the buttoned tab. The back pockets are just pocket flaps. I don’t use back pockets.
side
Another shot of the tabbed pockets. I am really ready to move on to something else and just slapped a snap into the front waistband. The buttons and the snaps may get replaced sometime in the future
closeup
The 1.5″ deep cuffs and the reason for 2 extra days spent on these pants…it’s a boring story
cuffs
On a happier note here’s the Guatemalan top with them
GBack
The Guatemalan fabric goes so well with dark washed jeans.
GJeans

I just love fabrics (pur-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r)

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. Just fabulous! The fit is superb!

    Reply
  2. Sew those welt pockets shut and carry a samll bag for what you would put in them! I have had store bought pants with this problem and just said heck with it…then you can ditch the tab and pretend they stay shut magically. All in all, a nice pair of pants and really lovely with the Guatemalan top.

    Reply
  3. Sharp looking and such a great match for the Guatamalan top!

    Reply
  4. Mary Beth .- therefore are not entirely bad ….. I like the detail of the buttons in the front pockets and also the color and material looks very good. a big hug and see you soon. Paco

    Reply
  5. Great pants, like your save with the tab, but like Georgene’s idea too. The combination with the Guatamalan top is wonderful.

    Reply
  6. I’m enthusiastic about Georgene’s suggestion to sew those pockets shut. I had toyed with the idea of not inserting the pocketing when I saw how those single welts would gap but forged ahead anyway, going for completion of the entire project. When I recover from this “project fatigue” (you ever get that with a project that just takes a few days too long?) I may remove the tabs and get them fixed.

    Thanks, Ya’ll, for your help and kind words!

    Reply
  7. Hi Mary,

    Beautiful! I like the pockets details!

    **

    Reply
  8. I’m sorry that you’re not happy with your new jeans/pants but I do like how you added the tab and the button to keep the pockets closed.

    As an aside ~ I loved the purr and last statement…I soooooo agreee!

    Reply
  9. Absolutely gorgeous how can you complain about anything?!

    Yeah, like the top, and the shoes, too – tres chic –

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

