RSS Feed

Vogue 8252 ~The Never Ending Shirt Is Finally Done!~

Posted on

I thought I would never finish this shirt! This is just one of those projects that seem to go on forever, know what I mean?

full

I wanted the vertical lines of the ruffles to elongate and balance out my smaller torso when I wear it with skirts. I think it works with the Guatemalan skirt OK. The different colors of the fabric allows it to go with many different solid colored skirts (yet to be altered or newly made)

V8252

I sort of made view C, cutting a 12 for the neck, shoulders and sleeve and a 16 for the rest of the shirt, adding a 3/8″ FBA. I think I could have made a deeper adjustment through the bust.

Now, really, I should do a review of this pattern at Pattern Review, and maybe I will. But this pattern is now OOP (out of print) so it’s not a loss to the sewing community if I let it just slide into history. I’ll remake this pattern just because I like it.

The collar is very nicely shaped and it is loose around the neck as the only reviewer at PR has said. I think you can see that from the technical drawing where you can see the base of the neck in the drawing.

V8252Drawings

But do you see any indication of a gathered sleevehead in the pattern illustration or line drawing of view C? No, I didn’t either. I measured the length of the sleeve pattern piece and took out 1.75″ per my usual Vogue adjustment.

I just wasn’t thinking straight when I measured that sleeve piece: it clearly had a high, rounded cap, the kind used for a gathered sleeve. But did I give that more than a fleeting thought? No-o-o-o! I measured from the top of that piece right down to where the pattern’s 2″ wide cuff attaches, and took out 1.75″. I took out too much length, that’s all there is to it.

Fortunately, I had enough fabric left over to make the longer cuffs.

cuff

I continued my thoughtless sewing and attached the longer cuff to the pleated sleeve. No-o-o-o-o! It looked so weird, this style of cuff really needs the sleeve to be gathered into it. Much better when gathered.

So here we go: cuff done.

side

This pattern planned for a frayed edge ruffle but I just could not bring myself to let this Liberty of London fabric fray in the wash. I doubled the width of the ruffle strips, sewed and turned them out to have a proper ruffle, then stitched the seamed edge to the shirt fronts That made stitching the ruffles much more difficult. They are just top stitched on and the tightness of the fabric plus 5 thicknesses and ruffling wore out my 7/10 needle. Oh well. Mission accomplished.

The ruffles meet in the front

front

and the buttonholes on the right hand side are tucked in behind the first row of ruffles.

buttons

Very tricky little detail there, don’t you think? I like it and I like it more finally done.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

16 responses »

  1. That is a lovely shirt and the liberty fabric is gorgeous. Sorry that you had such a bad time with the sleeves of this Oop blouse caused by the vogue line drawing but you managed to “Make it happen” like Tim Gunn would say.
    Great shoes too.

    Reply
  2. The bigger cuffs are a nice detail. I wouldn’t have known they weren’t planned if you hadn’t told me. I also like the ruffles better without the raw edges.

    Reply
  3. That is the loveliest blouse! I think the cuffs are just meant to be – very nice!

    Reply
  4. Shew! You did a fabulous job on your shirt. You are right…the button/ruffle treatment looks tricky, but it is cool. Very beautiful work.

    Reply
  5. I love your blouse. I have this pattern in my stash as do many others most likely, so reviewing on pattern review might be quite helpful. I like the way you did the ruffles.

    Reply
  6. What a lovely, lovely shirt. The fabric is gorgeous and the results are very nice even though the construction seemed to go on and on… The finished ruffles look much better than raw edges and the cuff detail looks like you planned it. IN fact I thought “what an interesting cuff” before reading your post and learning the details of why you did it that way.

    Reply
  7. Oh I love it! That wide cuff is fabulous – I would never have guessed it wasn’t part of the design (well, except when I pulled out my copy of this pattern and wondered why it didn’t have wide cuffs, LOL!) That fabric is lovely.

    Reply
  8. The Liberty of London fabric is gorgeous! And I really like the shirt and all of the details…can’t wait to see the next version!

    Reply
  9. Mary Beth .- nice detail buttons are hidden underneath the Ruffles. Overall a pretty blouse is very suitable for combining with skirts or trousers. Hugs, Paco

    Reply
  10. Love it! I really admire the double ruffle feature, must remember that. The way the ruffle hides the buttons is lovely too. You look wonderful.

    Reply
  11. **I thought I would never finish this shirt! This is just one of those projects that seem to go on forever, know what I mean?**

    Yes MBeth, but it was worth every minute it took. It is beautiful! I clicked on your blog and my mouth dropped!!! I wouldn’t take on anything so fiddly. My 16yr old DD would though.
    It even goes with the skirt, how fab is that and can I say ‘shoes’! Lovely.

    Reply
  12. Great looking cuffs, Mary Beth.

    Reply
  13. Beautifully done! Thank you for showing all the details – there are many on this blouse, but I think that’s part of the appeal. There are so many individual details, but they all work together so nicely. BTW, your diamonds are beautiful, too. I prefer a band like yours rather than a solitaire.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Vogue 8252 View A « The Stitchery

  15. Really lovely blouse. Great job with all the ruffles.

    Reply
  16. This is really beautiful. Love the cuffs!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

