RSS Feed

Stitch and Flip Class

Posted on

Ha! I’m committed.

I’ve signed up the Stitch and Flip class that Shannon Gifford of SensibleSewing.com is giving at PatternReview.com. I have wanted to take this class forever but found with prior PR classes that my work schedule would get in the way and I could not follow through. There’s no refund available for being a drop out (heheheheh) although some think there should be especially when most “dropouts” are caused by real life emergencies.

But I’ve jumped in with both feet and the checkbook, so now I’m committed to learning something or losing money. It’s time I learned something.

Well, this time I’m going to carve out my Jacket Time. I can’t take as much time as some to create a wearable jacket and this is supposedly a faster way to produce a lined jacket. I really got to carve out my Jacket Time.

Now I’ve got to chose the pattern and fabric. There’s so many on the want to sew list but the summer heat is addling my brain, no make that addling my will to sew a jacket. I know I’ll love it, I know I’ll need it, I should have the foresight to do this.

Here’s an idea, notice I didn’t say it was the final plan

Idea for Stitch and Flip class

I’ve planned to sew this for -oh- a few -ahem!- years. I’m rushed for time (as always) and didn’t get the settings right on the camera so let me further illuminate: the fabric is a silk/cotton loosely woven boucle in dark navy, true blue and silver/white. I hope to underline with organza and china silk.

It would get one more thing off the must make list. Now have to do the muslin for the pattern…if Shannon approves it and the fabric.

I am excited!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I took that class and thought it was great! I’m looking forward to seeing your jacket emerge from that pretty fabric.

    Reply
  2. Beautiful fabric and great pattern. You’ll have to sew the front pieces together and do the pocket first and then treat the front as one pattern piece before stitch/flip I expect.

    Reply
  3. I took that class and enjoyed it.Shannon is a good teacher.I can’t wait to see your jacket.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

