RSS Feed

Lycoris squamigera

Posted on

Posted by Mary Beth at The Stitchery

I was so tempted to title this post, “Want to See A Naked lady”?

because that’s what this is, just beginning to open what will be beautiful and fragrant pink flowers.

stalk

flower

They are also called Surprise Lily, Resurrection Lily or Magic Lily and are a member of the Amaryllis family.

In early Spring around here this plant sprouts green strappy leaves that die down. Then in mid summer the thick single stalk pops up and and whorls of pink flowers are quickly opened. These are very popular in the gardens as they require no care at all except careful guarding from the dreaded lawn mower man.

I’ll post a daily pix of the flowering of the Naked Lady. This photo was taken at 12:30pm Central Time, July 22, 2008. You’ll see, she will rapidly be fully clothed.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. OOOHHHH!!!! I hope this is what I think it is, because I love them, want some, and didn’t know what they were called. Now I can get some!

    Reply
  2. Ummm, you would have gotten some interesting hits with that title! *LOL* Okay now I have to check back every day to see this plant…gardening by internet is hard work! *LOL*

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

