RSS Feed

Lycoris Squamigera Day 4

Posted on

Posted at The Stitchery by Mary Beth

(Photos taken 11:30 am CST, due to impending rain)

The Stitchery has been blessed with a well dressed Lady!

full

Pleased to meet you 🙂

hello

Two of 7 have opened

two

With beautiful yellow throats

throat

and across the yard a new stalk begins to shoot up

new

Another Naked Lady to protect until she’s dressed.

Amazing, eh?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. oh they are so pretty, and now that I know what they are, I can get some! do you think I can just pick them up at a garden store, or do I need to special order them?

    oh, and no, I don’t seem to have trouble with japanese beetles on the roses. something was eating the leaves, but I got some liquid stuff that you mix w/water and feed the plants every 6 weeks (I think the brand was Bayer Advanced).

    Reply
  2. Isn’t nature amazing? Thanks for sharing the process.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful! Am I seeing correctly? Are there no leaves on this plant?

    Reply
  4. I’ve never seen these bulbs in a local nursery but I’m not a big shopper at the moment.

    Yes, the plant at this stage has no leaves: the leaves appeared in a great strappy mass in spring and died down into a rather ugly tangle, which is maybe why around here they are planted in the grass of the yard so that they will eventually be mowed when the leaves get unsightly. Then a couple of months later, this flowering stalk appears.

    I cannot bring myself to spray insecticide and so I hand pick all unwanted visitors and kill them myself. It still is killing but I take out no other guests with my bad karma collection. Don’t exactly know why I am in this mode. It’s a ton of extra work and rather messy at times.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing Mary Beth, I never knew of this lily. What zone are you in? Maybe I’ll find it here.

    Reply
  6. I looked this up in one of my plant books, and, of course, it’s not hardy enough to grow here. I’ve really enjoyed your photos!

    Reply
  7. Ever since you posted photos of your Naked Ladies, I’ve been checking on ours. My husband came in yesterday and said they were finally up and blooming here!

    These are one of my most favorite flowers. Ours are transplanted from the house I grew up in. We moved there in 1971 and the lilies were landscape for the no longer-in-use outhouse (which was torn down after we bought the property)! When my mom got the 1882 era house ready to sell after dad died, the surprise lilies were some of the plants we dug up and moved too.

    Thanks for sharing yours.

    Reply
  8. So beautiful this flowers…

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

