RSS Feed

Not To Forget The Bed Jacket….

Posted on

Posted by Mary Beth at The Stitchery

Great comments have been posted to the Burning Nightgown post yesterday. I hadn’t been aware that KwikSew now can access all of its archive patterns but for a few.

How sweet and helpful is Debbie Cook to offer to trace off an old pattern she may have??? and Gemma (Heather) is right on to point to the PatternRescue website. What a wonderful group of people stop by The Stitchery!

I’ve heard from Simplicity and I’ve heard from KwikSew. As I said in my comments section Simplicity’s response is that they would consider it for future releases.

I think I might have offended the folks at KiwkSew because they did not respond to the request for a bed jacket and said nothing about future considerations. They sent me the archive request form as an attachment and said that they appreciate feedback, both good and bad. Uh-oh, my ability to make people mad is astounding!! I should know better than to write when there is a fire lit under me. I get too terse and that doesn’t translate from the written word very well.

I have not heard from the Butterick companies nor from Hot Patterns. I know that when I receive a request for a new product I have to think about it for a while before I can respond. As a designer and a manufacturer there are certainly many things to weigh before I can answer with any surety.

I don’t really need a response, I just really need the pattern style to be revitalized and would really like a pattern with the bed jacket included.

I forgot to send the request out to Jalie. I will do that today. Am I missing anyone who would likely design something such as this?

I’ll bet we see these styles revitalized in a few years. I tend to run a year or two ahead of the pack and a bit out of step. Well, we’ll see what happens, right?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I checked my old Kwik Sew and Stretch and Sew patterns, but didn’t turn up the style you want. You might want to contact Stretch and Sew as well. They have patterns for lingerie and nightgowns. I haven’t even seen a bedjacket for year, but what a good idea!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Tessa, I did contact the Stretch and Sew by phone as I couldn’t find an email addy on their website (https://www.gmidesign.com/stretch/home.html), and spoke with the nicest person. They have to print 2000 patterns at a time but they do have a suggestion box. Hope springs eternal 🙂

    Reply
  3. I have to go through my pattern stash, but I think I might have some vintage-y 1970’s patterns that you might like too. Let me check and get back to you.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

