RSS Feed

Burda 8/08 116A Pants

High waisted pants are in the fashion forecast so here’s my nod to the fashion follies

Front
front

Back

back

Sized 36 to 42 in the magazine, I had to add .5″ to each seam to make sure I had enough width as I am between a 42 and a 44.

I could not follow the zipper/waistband facing instructions at all and even asked for help at Stitcher’s Guild. No one came forward with the Magic Answer.

Impatient after days of struggle I inserted the zip using the standard separate fly and facing piece instructions in the Singer Sewing bible and then deconstructed in order to attach the waistband facing. That worked. I recommend deconstruction as a method of getting what you want when all else fails!

These are comfy pants and should look good with a frilly blouse and shortie jacket.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Wow, really nice looking pants! And what a great idea to solve the zipper conundrum.

    Reply
  2. Mary Beth .- you are ahead with the fashion pants “waist high.” In addition, you are wonderful, really. Best wishes, Paco

    Reply
  3. Heyyyy, You are back! Nice to see you and those pants are fabulous. Love that belt.

    Reply
  4. Oh wow! Those pants look great.

    Reply
  5. Interesting look with the higher waist. I think it’s one of those things that will take me a while to get used to.
    I am totally loving the top you’re wearing in the pictures.

    Reply
  6. Lovely trousers! Yes, I think you could make them work nicely with a pretty blouse and little jacket.

    Reply
  7. Hi Mary,

    How are you?
    Very nice pants with a higher waist that is a big trend.

    I like the belt detail and this model looks great on you.

    (I like the blouse too…is very “chinese” with flowers stamp)

    Kisses

    Reply
  8. I am glad to see these pants. I have a pattern for highwaisted skirt and pants. I am just not sure how this will look on me, but I like yours. Actually very flattering!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

