RSS Feed

Could I Be Sew Tired?

It’s Thursday after 3:30pm.

This week I have caught up with all the commercial orders, I have done all the payrolls and accounting jobs needed. I have been prompt for all the appointments I’ve had scheduled and now I have what’s left of this afternoon to sew and Friday as well.

Last week I processed the fall wools and pressed them on Thursday and Friday. They are folded on the cutting table and I’m all set to do some kick-ass outfits so badly needed.

The patterns had been chosen. I need everything from underwear to outwear. I just can’t get going!

What the heck is going on? I’m taking the B-12 supplements (hoping that I don’t have to have the shots), I finally got 8 hours of sleep last night. I’m being careful about what I eat and eating mostly 3 times a day. I’m drinking decaffeinated or herbal tea all day. The colon cleanse is over and my digestive system should be settling down soon.

I dream of sewing all night and got up this morning with determination to create the things I see in my mind. New fabrics await me if I could just get the basic pants, shirts, tops and jackets made, I’ve got adventures waiting in the wings.

But I just want to sleep in the sun like a kitty. Seems my get up and go has got up and left.

I just might be found underneath a huge stack of fabrics, toes sticking out like Wicked Queen of the East (or was it the Wicked Witch of the West?) when Dorothy’s house landed upon her….

800px-Wicked

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. Hi Mb,
    Don’t force your self, listen to your body and relax and enjoy the sun and take a rest. You will get into the sewing mood again sooner or later.Enjoy being a lady of leisure for today and tomorrow.
    Hugs.

    Reply
  2. LOL, I am feeling the same way too. I think it might be the seasonal change. I know for me once it gets cooler, all I want to do is sleep until my body adjusts. I have just been reading up on ways to help clear the fog. I have started taking flaxseed oil again. It is like an instant rev for your ‘motor’. Use organic grade in a dark bottle and keep it refrigerated. A teaspoon in the morning and I am off flying.
    I have also just read about a combination of ‘Omega’ oils called Perfect Balance. I’ll look for it here.
    If all else fails, sleep in. Allow yourself the luxury.

    Reply
  3. Hi, take care of yourself and if you need rest now, just take it.
    For myself I always need time when I’ve finished a project that took quite a bit of time to complete (work or otherwise). That is often followed by one or a few days of not wanting to do anything.

    Reply
  4. Take the time to watch the leaves turn and get in the zone; your mind is still in that busy place from all the work you have had to do. You need to relax a bit (says the pot calling to the kettle LOL!) before you get at the good stuff!

    Hope the storm isn’t too bad down your way …

    Reply
  5. Oh, MB, don’t worry about it! You obviously *want* to sew, but your body doesn’t think so. Do rest and the sewign will come in time.

    Reply
  6. I know this feeling, well…after years of trying to fight against it…trying to make myself sew, I have learned that this is the refreshing & inspirational period right before the big sew. So take the time to rest, continue to be inspired and when the desire returns…watch out! ‘Cause some amazing garments are going to flow from your sewing machine!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

