RSS Feed

OK, Ready: More High Waisted Pants

Yesterday’s malaise must have been the accumulation of business problems, sleepless nights, stomach problems and general change of seasons: I slept 1.5 hrs as soon as I got home and another full 8 hours during the night. Is there anything better than a good night’s sleep?

Anyway, I didn’t have the whole day to sew today after all, and in fact I’m doing some accounting in between writing this post and the electricity going out (??!!??). But before the most recent biz issues came up I spent an hour pondering the fitting shell that comes in the Hollywood Pants pattern by Sewing Workshop. the Hollywood Pant has been removed from the Sewing Workshop website so here’s my camera’s view of the pattern envelope.

Hollywood

The fitting shell has the pleats marked on it and I carefully measured them and deducted them from my estimated front girth. No Way could I cut a pair of pants from this pattern!

With the pleats (4.75 inches’ worth) included the front pattern piece would have to measure 15.75″ to fit me snugly and the pattern piece is only 15.75 inches wide at size 26! Funny, my back side is a size 16-18.

Ah-ha, there is a mistake: the fitting shell should not have the pleats printed on it.

Simple

I wanted to make up this pant because it has a full lining pattern. I’ve been adding my own linings and making up the instructions so maybe it’s time to learn how it’s supposed to be done, eh?

I think I’ll add a full front stay that will be one of the pocket pieces extended to the center front.

Now to focus on cutting the size 16+ out of some Super 100’s camel colored tropical wool. Focus, focus!!!

Here’s the pattern envelope back

back

And focus she did: Now that I’ve gotten into the pattern and spent 20 minutes looking for the back lining piece I see that there isn’t one. There’s only a 1/2 length front lining piece so that will function as the front pleat stay. Hmmmmm, does this alter my choice of fabrics? That may have to be decided tomorrow.

Stay tuned.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. Hi there,
    I am looking to learn how to make men’s pants (full cut, Frank Sanatra style). Tried to shop but I was told that I am living in the past, 1970 and 1980’s. Can you please advise how I can get those pants but preferably where I can go to learn about it.

    Thanks
    Hassen

    Reply
  2. Oh Hassen, I feel your pain! I cannot tell you how to learn to tailor except to find a tailor willing to teach you. Is there someone who will work with you to learn to make your own clothes? Vogue pattern company has two patterns for men’s dress pants that have front pleats should you get a chance to try to make your own.

    I can also suggest that you might want to see if the pants or a pattern for the pants can be made for you. I have a link for EuroTailors in the blogroll at the right of this page. They might be able to help you if there is no tailor local to your area.

    You might also look on ebay for vintage men’s pants.

    Good luck!!!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

