RSS Feed

A LITTLE COUNTRIFIED HUMOR

Not sure what this means but I think it’s cute and to avoid emailing it to all my friends:

In Tennessee lived a family that made its living weaving cloth.

One day, a debt collector knocked on the door. ‘Is Jack home?’ he asked the woman who answered the door. ‘I’m sorry,’ the woman replied. ‘Jack’s gone for cotton.’

A few weeks later the collector tried again. ‘Is Jack here today?’ Once again the answer was ‘No, sir, I’m afraid he has gone for cotton.’

When he returned for the third time and Jack was still nowhere to be seen, he complained, ‘I suppose Jack is gone for cotton again?’ ‘No,’ the woman answered solemnly, ‘Jack died yesterday.’

Suspicious that he was being avoided, the collector decided to wait a week and investigate the cemetery. Sure enough, he found poor Jack’s tombstone, with this inscription: ‘Gone, But Not for Cotton.’

“Thanks” to my dear friend Jim in Michigan!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. Oh, I get it!
    Gone but not… “For Cotton” is “Forgotten”!
    Cute! Took me a few moments of puzzling though.

    Reply
  2. Mary Beth.-

    I got a prize for you in my blog. hugs and goodnight. Paco

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

