RSS Feed

Blog Prize

Premio

Ayeeeee! Paco Peralta nominated The Stitchery for this award.

Aieeeeeee! That he should even know the address of The Stitchery in blogland is beyond my understanding and one of the great wonders of my world. Bless his heart, he’s a truly good guy, my hero and the person most likely to cheer me up when I’m feeling down. All I have to do is go to his blog to see the beautiful workmanship and I’m in heaven again.

So now that he’s bestowed this blog award I have to follow the rules.

Since I’ve been trying to quit smoking and I tend to smoke when I sit at the computer, I’ve tried to stay away from the computer and when I’m here I try to focus on Beautiful, Uplifting, Inspiring, Thoughtful and not-necessarily-restricted-to-garment-sewing blogs. I want to tickle my imagination and see what bubbles up in response.

I do also read lots of garment sewing blogs when I’m able, many of which are in my blog roll and many of which aren’t but the darned thing is way too long to begin with, and I treasure each of them, and sad to say, miss many of them and click on links from sewing blogs, always checking out as many as I can. I’m not going to tag the wonderful talented blogs that many of us sewing creatures are so familiar, I’m going to nominate some that that have thrilled me in an unusual way lately. Just.because.

1. Select 6-10 bloggers to whom you would like to give this award.

Allie’s in Stitches Colorful, Graceful inspiration

arkansew Solid Values inspiration

Bubblegum 4 Breakfast Gutsy inspiration!

KayB’s Sewing Journal Style and Process inspiration

Glass of Fashion Style and Period inspiration

Not Enough Thursdays Craft (not crafty but craft as in trade professionalism) Perfection inspiration

Sleevehead Menswear inspiration

Sherril’s Sewing Saga Fitting inspiration

2. Put the award – prize on your blog and indicate who gave it to you by identifying her/his blog.

3. Paste these rules on your blog

4. Write 6 of your most important values and 6 negative points you condemn.

Important: Things I love to find in others and hope to strive for in myself

Kindness (the Dali Lama made me say that first! I think it’s the ultimate value)
Wisdom
Patience
Inquisitiveness
Logic
Reliability

Condemn: This is almost too personal for me to be comfortable revealing. Why? because I think what you are pushing away (condemning) you are still involved with because you are still touching it. I will, however, list my “condemns” because I am being brave today:

Lack of Grace
Deceit
Anger
Illogic
Self Centeredness
Carelessness

OK, that was an exercise in introspection. I think I like Paco’s short and sweet response better. He just nails it!

Mis seis valores importantes se resumen en uno: la integridad, y algo que no considero importante, por supuesto, es el afán de protagonismo, sea cual sea su causa. Esto incluye la envidia, la competencia y la mala educación.

Translated by Google:

My six important values are summarized in one: integrity, and not something that I consider important, of course, is the desire of prominence, whatever their cause. This includes envy, competition and poor education.

5. Inform the recipients by leaving a comment on their blog.

OK.

Love to all who stop by here
Mary Beth

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

11 responses »

  1. Thank you so very much!
    I am truly honored….

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much for the award! On behalf of my fellow bloggers, Not Enough Thursdays thanks you! I look forward to exploring your blog as well!

    Reply
  3. Thank you for the “gutsy inspiration” award :)) And thank you for taking the time to visit my blog, I love what I do but it’s always nice to be validated.

    Reply
  4. You shouldn’t be surprised – you make lovely things, and are a survivor and inspiration to all. Congrats!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations, Mary Beth. I’m looking forward to visiting the blogs you chose for the award.

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the nod, MB. I’m honored that you enjoy my blog.

    Reply
  7. glassoffashion

    Congrats on your prize and thanks so much for passing it on to me!

    Reply
  8. Hi MaryBeth, Can you email me please? Thanks.

    Reply
  9. Thank you for the nomination Mary Beth. How very kind of you!

    Reply
  10. Well, a little bit delayed, but thank you very much for nominating me! Woo hoo….!

    Reply
  11. Alexwebmaster

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

