RSS Feed

Daily Archives: November 7, 2008

Prada KnockOff

Oh Hello!

I feel like the Motel 6 commercial: I’ve been everywhere…..not Barstow, though.

But I did go to Baltimore, actually Columbia MD, and spent 2 days with Michael’s Fabrics and A Fabric Place. Ahem. Trust me when I say that the time was well spent and over the next year you’ll see some of the riches mined there. What an absolutely delightful group of folks. And the fabrics are fabulous, so are the buttons, the notions, linings, tailoring supplies, etc etc etc.

And I should be gone now on yet another trip but I’ve gotten the second case of pneumonia this year. I’m finding someone else to handle the preschool’s bookkeeping, etc. I just can’t go there, I get too close to the children and can’t fight off their sniffles and sneezes. With no children of my own I just can’t help myself.

Anyway back to the fun stuff: Here’s the Sea Island cotton I found and it’s an exact match to the powerdry Georgene and I had milled by Malden Mills years ago.

fabric

See? The cotton is on your left as you look at the photo; the powerdry is on the right.

And then this lace

lace

So what’s next? Yup, I get to fulfill my dreams of my March 3, 2008 blog post when I said:

On the upper side of glamour Prada hit it right IMHO this year. Nude PowerDry would be just the perfect underlining and turtle neck cami

I vant to be lace encrusted!

Prada from Style.com Fall RTW2008

So I’m cutting the skirt out now. I wish I could have found the nude lace but I’m pretty darned happy with the way things turned out. I have 5 days before I get on a plane for Southern California and engage in 4 more days of selling Montessori materials and classroom furniture. So say a saleswoman will do anything to attract attention (big grin)

hugs to all
Mary Beth