RSS Feed

Not Prada, but Me, Lace Encrusted

Definitely not Prada. Not skinny and tall, and wispy and blonde, just lace encrusted me after all, and so happy I finally got to take these photos to show you!

ftcl

I wore it with a brown belt and brown spectator pumps
fullside back

The fabo shirt needed modification as the collar
EvaBlouse
really does stick out that far and that high on the torso.

My face was overwhelmed by all that volume so I played with the situation
collar2

and decided that buttons tacking down folds on the overly exuberant collar might make the top wearable
frtclose
The collar is interfaced with Fashion Sewing Supply’s Pro Fusible Woven and has enough high stiffness to make me feel a bit like Elvis Presley during the Las Vegas years (smirk)
collar

I think it turned out OK, esp with the scalloped edge back lite by the nude woven
collarside
Missed the cuff in the above photo, so here’s another shot
cuff2

I love the way this top fits, which is great since I didn’t have time to make a muslin but had to work from flat pattern measurements. I deviated only in inserting a side zip instead of the called for hook and eyes.

I thought I would never get the time to document this outfit. It’s hard to get me, the clothing, and accessories, and camera in the same place at the same time and then get good shots. Carving out the time seems to be getting tougher too. Or is it just my imagination?

I do have to remind myself that I spent 5 weeks traveling this Fall but I seem to have very little memory of the past few months. Our Southern California trip was eventful as we were cut off from a good number (maybe a quarter?) of would be attendees by the fires that broke out that weekend, shutting down the expressways. The show was good for us, we sold well in spit of the horrible economic outlook. Seeing my brothers and sister for an early Thanksgiving dinner after the show was over was lovely as I haven’t seen them all together in a few years. I’m happy that they are all in good health and doing very well.

I have sewn up a few other things I’ve not shown you but not near as much Fall and Winter sewing as I had planned. At least HusPartner’s gotten a new Zegna shirt so now he loves Michael’s Fabrics, too!!!!

And my friend “D” will be getting a smashing new wool vest to wear to work in his shirt sleeves this Winter. He loves style and fashion and I really want to spoil him just a tiny bit because when it comes to graciousness and manners this man teaches me lovely new things each time I see him. So naturally I want to dress him. Is that a “girl thing”? Maybe, eh?

It’s been lovely to have these few hours to write and share with you all and to ponder the fates of sewing at The Stitchery.

More soon, I do hope.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

13 responses »

  1. Your outfit turned out great! I love how you tamed that collar. It made a very ncie detail.

    Reply
  2. Love the collar too! And the cuffs are a perfect match.

    Reply
  3. ***It’s been lovely to have these few hours to write and share with you all and to ponder the fates of sewing at The Stitchery.***

    And you have totally made my day with this fabulous outfit. I was hoping to see the skirt done but I am bowled over by the fabulousness of the outfit in its entirety.
    Thanks for taking the time to share. I shall return often to look at this eye candy.

    Reply
  4. Perfect, this is a great outfit. Wonderful details on collar and cuff.
    Inspiring too, I really think I must find some lace to make a jacket.

    Reply
  5. Looks great! I love the color and your ingenious collar solution.

    Reply
  6. Stunning absolutely stunning…and I love the details!

    Reply
  7. Lovely Lace outfit, you look smashing.

    Reply
  8. LOOOOVE IT! The lace is really classy and the pattern is a great choice for it. Your work was and always is worth waiting for!

    Reply
  9. Just beautiful. The placement detail and the collar solution are perfectly done.

    Reply
  10. Fabulous outfit. I love the way you tacked the collar down – it’s my favourite detail in the whole outfit. This colour suits your complexion really well, by the way!

    Reply
  11. I love those cuffs, Mary Beth, and the collar solution is great! I know exactly what you mean about the time just disappearing, and not getting as much sewing done as you planned. It seems to be the story of my life these days.

    Reply
  12. Wow! I am so behind on blog reading and your post on your lace dress was mentioned in another blog so came here right away to see this. Great job!

    Reply
  13. Your collar solution is perfect. Very flattering, and it gives the whole thing that special touch. Great lace.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

