RSS Feed

Workhorse Patterns: HP Razor Sharp Pants and Kwik Sew 2740

Lest you all think I’ve just given up my sewing life to worry about CSPIA and the businesses and indulging in fabulous tailoring classes I have managed to document (in spite of the difficulties with Kodak EasyShare software) the sewing done in the past month.

I used the HP Razor Sharp Pants pattern right out of the envelop to first make the eggplant colored pants below at the end of December for the Palm Springs trip. The mock turtleneck was made up last night in a well aged sweater knit from Ressy’s Coop.

I believe the fabric for the pants came from Emma One Sock years ago. It’s a stretch wool, and not very substantial: It is piling and showing wear after just those few weeks in Palm Springs. But it’s fun while it lasts. I love the dark eggplant for pants!

The turtleneck I’m holding is made from Kwik Sew pattern # 2740 and I owe Faye Lewis a debt for posting her use of this pattern. I wouldn’t have all my warm turtle necks this winter had she not shown us hers last November. The fabric is Ressy’s powerdry in Nude.

KS2740 is a versatile, no nonsense and quick pattern to make up. I gotta recommend it highly! I wouldn’t be a sewing friend if I didn’t. (My, I’ve gained some weight having way too much fun ~evil grin~).

purple

These pants are a stretch wool also, Fashionistafabric’s “Grey Flannel” She has it on sale right now and I can’t say how they will wear because I just made them but it sewed up nicely and has great body. I can’t believe how soft it is. Yummy! You all should go get some of this and while you’re there is can also recommend the glenplaid, too. Nice, cuddly, soft and lovely. That’s next up on the cutting table.

I altered this version of HP Razor Sharp Pants by taking some of the width out of the back leg. I didn’t do it completely correctly though and the front crease of the pant swings out to the side a bit. I only removed width from the back leg and should have removed it equally from both the front and the back. I guess I need to go back to school! Right, a’ole ca la, I believe is how the Hawai’ians say it, my pockets are empty! Actually I need to research this more deeply as I believe that there are some strict rules as to balancing the fronts and backs. And, too, there are different rules depending on who you talk to. You talk to different people you hear different things, right? Anyway, back to it….

grey

grey back

This last photo shows some sweater knits procured in 2001 or 2002. The chestnut colored one is very soft, a merino wool with a tension flaw running down it that I forgot about when I cut it out. Oh well, no one seemed to notice. The other is a very delicate cashmere lace knit that is not going to be long for this world: the stitches were poorly formed and the thread breaks easily. Time to knit up some yardage for my self I think. But at least I’ve got them made up and out of the stash.

In order to accomodate the thickness of the turned turtle neck collar on these sweater knits I cut the collar wider than the pattern’s largest size and cut the neckline on the bodice lower. This allows me to wear the powerdry turtle underneath and keeps the delicate sweater knits from having to be washed so often.

These pants (I gave up getting good photos of these, my patience was gone) are FashionistaFabric’s Tahari pinstripe, also on sale! It’s a non-stretch wool in colors that just make my day. I’ve got yardage left over that must become a shrunken jacket to go with them. They’re my favorites right now.

brown

So there it is. I haven’t been naked in spite of outgrowing my skinny clothes. Thanks to Melody for stocking such lovely fabrics. I have more lovelies to make up so I hope my camera’s software will cooperate!

hug all
Mary Beth

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. You have been busy! Nice turtlenecks and awesome pants! Can I ask a question? Did you line the pants? And if so, with what? Thanks!

    Reply
    • No, Carolyn, I didn’t line the pants although I love lined pants for warmth. You’d have to use a stretch lining with this pattern as it’s drafted so that it relies upon the stretch for good fit. I noticed that the brown non-stretch pants are just a bit wonky around the pockets.

      Reply
  2. Wow – that is a lot of clothes. They look great and so do you, even if you’ve been having “a bit of fun”. At least you’re living and enjoying it! Thanks for the recommendation of the KS pattern for the turtleneck. I live in t-necks (and usually two more sweaters o top) during the winter and would like to make some for myslef.

    Reply
  3. I am really loving each and every piece. You have been very busy, I am seriously impressed.

    I am sooo in need of some turtlenecks, but have no sewing mojo at the moment….uhhhmm. Hope this winter is soon gone.

    Reply
  4. Mary Beth,I love your coordinating wardrobe of turtle-neck tops and both pair of pants.The fit of the pant looks great.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Burda + #404 Again and Again and Again « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

