RSS Feed

Burda World of Fashion Vest, Jan 2009, #124

BWOF Jan 2009, #124

BWOF Jan 09 124Draw

This vest is simple but like all vests takes longer to make up than you think it should. I’ve just got to face it: adding the lining and making sure that all details are identical on each side takes time. I created a one piece facing for the back neck edge (the pattern has a two piece back so that the slit can be made) and cut the linings to fit the remainder of the inside back and did the same for the inside fronts.

Following the BWOF instructions I cut fusible interfacings to border the front edges, necklines, shoulders and armscye. For some reason I didn’t think to interface the hemlines. You should: it would help make the slit and front curves lie better.

The glen plaid was made up first and lined with china silk.

With my weight fluctuating as much as it has in the past few months and without first making a muslin I was very hesitant to take the darts as deeply as the pattern indicated. I did move the front darts in 1″. You can see that this vest has almost too much ease. So it will work over a sweater better than a shirt.

Glen plaid woolen vest – loose ease

PlaidVest

Grey flannel vest – close ease

GreyVest

This grey flannel was fully interfaced with fusible on the full front and the full back pieces as well as interfaced at the armscye, neck edge, front and shoulders. It looks much better.

As you can see from the profile sewing the darts deeply and making this vest pattern to fit snugly takes advantage of the nicely formed bustline darts this pattern affords.

The HusPartner’s verdict? “Yes, now that’s a woman’s vest”.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. That is one fabulous vest! I really like the grey flannel version, but I’m always drawn to solids. I’ve been debating whether or not to sew a vest. Since I have this issue, and like how yours turned out, I’m now convinced I need one too!

    Reply
  2. Congrats on finishing your vests. Both vests are looking fab, I do agree with your HB the grey one is very feminine.Enjoy wearing them.

    Reply
  3. Looking sharp! You know, I haven’t made a vest since the 80’s – you’re looking so great I’m going to have to reconsider. BWOF has published some cute ones over the last year.

    Reply
  4. I had been hesitant about vests but,yours make me think differently.Both vests are gorgeous and you are right,”That’s a woman’s vest”.Great job.

    Reply
  5. very elegant. These vests are worthy of “tahur” more clever …. uhhhmmmmm.

    enjoy yourself, you are wonderful.

    saludso, Paco

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Glen Plaid Pants « The Stitchery

  7. Wow, I love both versions you made. They both look great on you. Such a feminine look!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

