RSS Feed

Sisterhood Award

Posted on

sisterhood-award

I was so surprised to receive this award from Paco lately. Thank you, Paco. I’ve dragged my feet to passing it along since I haven’t spent much time reading blogs lately and there are so many new ones, too.

This award was designed by Diana Rambles who also does custom blog designs. She looks to be quiet a lively personality.

I don’t usually like to get very personal on this blog but there are some things I feel I must say. The last time I was tapped I nominated some folks who never acknowledged the award even though I left a message on their blogs that they were being honored. Maybe those who didn’t respond and pass it along didn’t feel honored or felt like it was a burden. I was sorry for that. I’d hate to obligate anyone with an award.

That made me rethink this award thing: are they a good thing or are they not? I think they are a good thing. Blogging takes work and time and it is lovely to be recognized for your efforts. I want to thank those who stop by The Stitchery and read what I write. These awards are a lovely thing and a good way to share good feelings so I hope that those I tag will accept this award in the spirit in which it is given: attitude and/or gratitude.

But many of my “Sisters” are not actively blogging these days or any day. I’m going to have to bend the rules of this award to fit my situation. (Or I could tag no one. Or I could tag folks who have already been tagged.) What to do, what to do. I think I’ll just acknowledge some dear ladies who have been good sisters and hope that they just enjoy the love. In doing this I will most assuredly leave out a number of people who have been good sisters. Forgive me!

Tessa from Pattern Review. Tessa and I have shared a long term friendship based upon our sewing interests and lifestyles. She sews practical clothing for her children and her husband and got me started sewing dress shirts for my husband. Thank you, Tessa! I’ve enjoyed our connection.

Lorna of NewmansNeedle has been a lgood friend for a long time, too. What a lovely, talented lady. She’s a good’un as they say around here.

Mary Ehrhardt of Southern Stitches Mary’s been very quiet on her blog these days but I am sure she’s plenty busy with her husband, job and children. We became friends during one of the first Pattern Review NYC meet ups. And she’s a very sweet lady.

Els of The Sewing Divas Els is my best friend and, as BFF’s often are, my mentor, in life, not just in sewing/tailoring, where she truly has a special place in many hearts throughout the blogging or online world. She is so special to me.

Summerset of Pins and Needles. She has kept me going through some troubled times and lifted my spirits with her wonderful creations, stopping by to say Hello usually just when I needed to hear a cheery word from someone. Thank you Summerset.

Carolyn of diaryofasewingfanatic has also dropped by and left comments when I seemed to be talking to myself. She’s lifted me up when I was so very down by just being her sewing self. I know she’s been nominated already but I am just thanking folks who have been good to me, and Carolyn has been one of them. Yes, indeed.

Melody of crazed sewer, who has always struck me dumb with her “I can do it” attitude. Nothing stops her when she puts her mind to creating something she really wants. Shes a Babe, too.

I’ve been tagged so late in the game I’ll stop now.

My online world has been quite small for the past few years. Leave a comment and say Hi if you would like to share links or introduce me to your blog.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. Thank you! You always inspire me – you’re such a survivor, not only physically, but also with all the things you’ve been through with your business.

    Reply
  2. I am truly honoured to be included in this list of stiching sisters! I will be blogging soon enough … I am almost finished the next project!

    Reply
  3. Thank you MaryBeth, my dear and best cyber friend for this nomination. I am feeling honoured. I am busy as a bee with client garment sewing so I have no time to do a post yet.

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much, MB! I have plans to get
    back into my blog, real soon, and this is
    the kick in the rear I needed. How sweet to
    think of me.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for your comment, I hope I can figure out how to use the june tailor board (lol), I know I will.

    Reply
  6. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for almost a year now. I love what you have to share with us.

    Reply
  7. I certainly wasn’t expecting this, and I feel very honoured to have been included with such a talented and wonderful group. I am sorry that my health has prevented me from being active on-line for the last while. I’m still enjoying checking in on what the rest of you are doing. Thanks so much, Mary Beth, you’re a real sweetie!

    Reply
  8. Cruz Barrientos

    Thank you for taking a look at my blog and for the comments. Much thanks to Els [The sewing Divas] and Paco [Paco Peralta] for pointing my blog.

    I was taking a look at yours, and have to take some time [when things low down a bit] to read all your postings. How great it is to have a working area away from your home, like you have. That would be a dream comes through for me.
    Congrats on the award.

    Cruz

    Reply
  9. Congratulations on the well deserved award!!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

