RSS Feed

Distractions!

Posted on

No sewing for the last couple of days…compiling financials for taxes took up 3 days and yesterday (Saturday) I was home babysitting the house. We were scheduled to have major storms hit our area in the morning and afternoon: 1.5″ hail, possible tornadoes, heavy electrical storms. Impending doom! HusPartner was out of state on a business trip so I was alone to handle any crisis.

I was up at 3 am to watch the approach. When nothing happened I went back to bed.

I didn’t dare drive over to The Stitchery where all my sewing is done because my car might be damaged by hail as the carport doesn’t cover the car completely.

In the early afternoon: nothing. Not even rain.

Tornado watches and warnings were issued in the early evening and doplar radar on the internet and TV showed the lines of strong storms heading right our way…

but as soon as they got to our area the storms would split up and go around!

At 8:35 a possible tornado on the ground about 50 miles southeast, funnel cloud definitely sighted.

At around 8:50 pm my animals alerted, and I heard a steady roar, like a freight train.

I know that sound and am used to having an underground cellar to evacuate to. Our farm in Northeast Arkansas provided that training. I’ve seen chickens lose feathers to the tornado winds, and a black mountain lion running down the road as we raced to drive home in time to get in the cellar. Really, it was a black mountain lion, black color being an anomaly that can happen in any population, according to my research.

I opened the back door to search the sky but nothing startling appeared. The roar went on for several minutes and afterward a hard rain pounded for about 30 minutes.

That was it. 30 minutes of slashing rain out of 18 hours of being on alert!

Thank goodness 🙂 Further south of us people were hurt and roofs were torn off, a home destroyed, a garage moved 40′ off it’s foundations, power out, trees down. “It” was out there but for us the skies parted. My goodness.

Today I gratefully go to sew.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. Oh dear that sounds like you were very lucky that it missed you. Sew happily!

    Reply
  2. Scary business!

    We only had hard rain yesterday, 3 hours after it was forecast to come through. We’d decided the thread was past and lit the grill for burgers. Um, sploosh…

    Reply
  3. Threat! Not thread!

    Can you tell I’d spent most of the day in production costume sewing! That ‘thread’ hasn’t passed yet either! LOL

    Reply
  4. Glad you and your little fluffy ones are ok!

    Reply
  5. I’d rather have thunder snow than invisible roaring freight trains any day… Yikes!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

