RSS Feed

Style Lines Aside: This Marfy’s for Me!

Posted on

I’ve ordered my first Marfy and I’m excited. The catalog came from Nancy Erickson and I just couldn’t stop looking at this pattern.

Few patterns call to me as this one has. You’d think from that last statement that the pattern stash wouldn’t be as large as it is but I have, as of this writing, no explanation or excuse. Therapy may be needed (or less sewing online)…but insurance won’t cover it so I’m stuck being me, slightly eccentric and somewhat workable. Always an enabler, I spread my maladies around…and without further ado, I give you Marfy 1877:

F1877

Just Look At It!!! Isn’t it cute???

Shall I be “an expert” and tell you that this pattern can handle a strongly patterned fabric? Naw, I don’t much like sewing and style “experts”. I’ll let the pattern’s illustrator say all that stuff, as they do very well in the drawing.

I like to buy patterns based upon the style lines, keeping in mind that I can draft most of them myself, but am extremely lazy when under the urge of a great fabric. The collar has a substantial enough stand to frame the face and sits lower at the front neckline to soften a square jaw; the raglan lines tend to square up the shoulders and balance out a triangle’s broader hip line; the vertical line down the back will add height by bringing the eye upward and the amount of ease through the body will help hide a heavy high hip. Perfect!

Personal and Political Aside…skip of you don’t like this kind of stuff: I am in truth gaining weight again which is quite a relief from losing weight. My skin is tighter, I love that: fewer wrinkles. I feel better in my body, more substantial, and I love being able to eat and digest cheese, chocolate, nuts, fruits, whole grains, salad, vegetable oils and dairy. Finally! Can’t safely handle wine yet since the chemo and radiation, but I do take the chance (bad girl!) I miss my waistline from the front and side: a rectangle from the front and an hourglass from the back view. I love to eat, drink and have fun more than having a fine figger, I reckon! No pants bagging or falling down.

I’m still mortally scared of being bony. I literally starved once during an economic downturn just after buying a house and hate having my bones be too uncomfortable to be able to rest my elbow on a chair cushion and not sleep on my side or stomach: It Hurt Big Time! It was the biggest side effect of being poor but responsible and I wont blame anyone but me.

I can’t remember the Church Mouse who said, “Eat, eat, eat to make me bigger but all I do is lose my figger”! Does any one remember where this quote came from? I can see the book but can’t remember the title (chemo brain…).

This pattern does, however, have a few style lines that usually don’t work so well on short, narrow and sloping shouldered persons: raglan sleeves and bust darts from the mid shoulder line.

Both of these features tend to make a short person appear lower to the ground to say nothing of the effect of narrowing sloped shoulders with that bust dart dissecting the shoulder line. Glance back at the pattern and see what I mean? But I think that the dart is located enough toward the neck that it might work. Think it over: if you have a broad shouldered hourglass, inverted triangle, or strong hourglass figure wouldn’t this would be a great pattern for you?

Vertical lines are great depending on where they are placed. I’ll do another post about that in a little bit. Remind me if I forget (more chemo brain)

I’m hoping that I can make this work by using some favorite raglan shoulder pads, again from Nancy Erickson’s Fashion Sewing Supply:

raglan

I take it from the lack of responses from the 150 to 300 people who hit this blog a day: you all don’t sew for children. Am I right?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

11 responses »

  1. MaryBeth that is indeed a lovely coat pattern and with the right notions like the shoulderpads and your expertise how to alter the pattern to fit you it would work perfectly. What fabric do you want to use?

    Reply
  2. So good to hear that your appetite is returning!

    That coat pattern is YOU! I know you’ll figger (ha) how to make it work.

    Reply
  3. No children under the age of 12 (soon to be 13…). That is a great coat pattern; one of these days I’ll grow up enough to try a Marfy pattern….

    Reply
  4. Marfy coats are great eye candy! I have a pattern that I need to get at one of these days, so I will have to live vicariously through you!

    Sewing for those under 12 in my house is keeping me busier and busier …

    Reply
  5. I would happily give you some of my pounds that I battle constantly. Still one does not want to be ill in order to be a thin girl. I hope you continue to feel better and fill out a bit.

    I don’t sew for children–yet. I have little grandsons that I would love to sew for, and intend to do that soon. Patterns for little boys are limited.

    The Marfy coat–are those raglan sleeves called “saddle” shoulders? Hard to tell from the diagram. It does have terrific lines. You’ll have a great time sewing this little gem!

    Reply
  6. I do sew for children and yes, I’m keeping an eye on the situation. My son is only 8 and my daughter is 10, so we shall see what we shall see. I do not sew commerically, for children, though.

    I like the coat – I’d have some of the same concerns that you do concerning some of the style lines. I do think that you could make this work for you and it would make you look taller. I’ve always shied away from such coats, when in fact they make me look taller.

    Last, but not least: love those green nails!

    Reply
  7. I love the look of Marfy patterns but alas I do not look like their drawings. Come to think of it nobody does…lol. Glad you are back to eating all those goodies. Yum

    Reply
  8. That is a lovely coat and I think it will look fabulous on you. I think I ordered it too, I’ve already forgotten and the patterns are sitting on my cutting table waiting for me to remember them and file them.

    Good food and wine (when you can) and enjoying life really make the living worthwhile. I always thought I would rather be fat and happy than thin and bitter, although I have occasionally paid lip service to missing my girlish figure. Don’t want to relive those girlish days again though.

    Reply
  9. Very interesting comments about keeping weight on. Since I’m still struggling to lose, I like your philosophy greatly.

    Reply
  10. MaryBeth, This is one of the patterns I ordered! I agree with all of your comments about it, and it just demanded that it be on my list. I have no idea what fabric I’ll use, but I can see making this over and over. What a classic style!

    Reply
  11. I really like the coat pattern. I’m so glad you’re enjoying eating and even gaining weight. It is so scary to lose weight and not be able to do anything about it.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

