RSS Feed

Painted Silk Lining

Posted on

I wanted something subtle to suggest a flower as a way of giving visual meaning to my mottled “from the stash” lining. A full explanation of the lining is in yesterday’s post, Yellow Coat III Pocket Suspension & Lining.

I believe I have achieved “subtle”!

Here’s the back lining piece in the evening sun. Yes, it is tapped to the window. Any port in a storm….

Back

I used a water based fabric dye from Sara’s Blooms to paint a darker yellow-orange outline on the silk. It runs, wicking through the silk fibers, making blobs where the brush is paused. Ahhhh, well. That’s a tiny demitasse cup in my favorite china pattern.

Waterbased dye

After the painted areas were dry I used white and orange Pentel Dye Sticks to create more suggestion of shape.

Pentel

It’s so subtle that different lighting conditions show different details

White

Angle

Yellow

These products don’t change the hand of the silk much. I tested a wide sharpie in white and that made the silk very stiff and boardy. I also tried a “3 dimensional” paint in white and that really made the white show well but, no, not a good look for a lining. On the front of a tee shirt, maybe, but not inside a coat.

Now I’m trying to decide if I want to add more “subtlety” to the front lining pieces. I had just enough silk satin to cut the lining for the body but the linings for the sleeves will have to be made from white china silk, so I can not afford a mistake.

Maybe I should quite while I’m ahead?

I believe the art world is safe from any intrusion by me 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

12 responses »

  1. Your art work looks great! A wonderful touch.

    Reply
  2. That looks like a fun touch. It makes the splotches ‘work’. Now back to the coat, which is already in progress…

    (Edit by Mary Beth, “translator” LOL) What Georgene means is don’t paint the front lining pieces 🙂 )

    Reply
  3. Judy Greenough

    I like it! I think it’ll be a wonderful touch on opening your coat.

    Reply
  4. Beautiful! You achieved “subtle”.

    Reply
  5. What an excellent idea – I love the results!

    Reply
  6. OK, I am loving the fabric dyeing and painting. That’s right up my alley! I have Sarah’s Blooms dyes–used them to dye lace. Me, I would paint all over the lining! Your coat is going to be delicious!

    Reply
  7. Nice subtle touch for the insides! I love something fun and interesting when you open up a garment to reveal the lining.

    Reply
  8. How much fun! Making the lining a work of art is like having a secret garden! And making it subtle is just right because the lining needs to be subordinate to the coat! Can’t wait to see the finished coat. Love it!

    Reply
  9. It’s BEAUTIFUL, Mary Beth!

    Reply
  10. What a perfect touch! It’s beautiful.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Yellow Coat - New Look 6832 « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

