RSS Feed

Night Gown or Lounging Set from KwikSew 3179

Posted on

I won KwikSew 3179 in a contest at Pattern Review a few years ago but had never sewn it up. Originally I was attracted to the wrap top aspect of it, wrap tops were the rage back then even though I have a hard time making them look good on my body style.

3179

In 2007 I bought 6 yards of this heavy crepe georgette when Ann first opened her internet store, fascinated by the combination of lavender and light orange.

GRG160_tn

Once I received the fabric I put it on the shelf and went on to sew up a double georgette top. Double georgette is two thin georgettes joined together into one layer and is very floatly. This double georgette top made from Vogue 8249 up during my summer of chemo.

V8249

I really was not doing a good job of sewing during that time. I could hardly feel the fabric and certainly had trouble concentrating

goldtop2

This is a regular weight georgette made up during the same summer

blouse

It is Vogue 2912, a discontinued Anna Sui pattern

V2912

Finally my Gorgeous Fabrics georgette came together with the KwikSew pattern in a plan for simple sewing a couple of days ago and here is the result

cropped

I cut the skirt on the bias even thought the pattern puts the skirt on the straight of grain. I used the merrow overstitch machine to roll the edges of the top and skirt.

The top is bias cut with the straight of the grain at the center front. This is great because the top’s front edges lay flat against the chest and are not so prone to stretching out than if it were biased in that area.

It feels wonderful on the skin and is not too see through that I have to get a robe on to answer the door.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. Very interesting! What a good idea to use the georgette for a lounging set! It’s very pretty! That gives me an idea… hmmm….

    Reply
  2. Luxery silk lounge outfit, you look great.

    Reply
  3. It looks absolutely comfortable and I love the color!

    Reply
  4. That looks so pretty on you! What a great idea to use that pattern for a lounging set.

    Reply
  5. That is a really pretty lounging set. I love clothes like that, pretty for around the house and evening.

    I also love your Anna Sui blouse. I bought the same Georgette, but haven’t made it up yet.

    Reply
  6. Wow, what a beautiful outfit!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

