RSS Feed

Kimono

Posted on

Today I am working on a kimono for my husband. He’s a wood worker who owns a company that makes Montessori materials and furniture so he’s doing the work and being the boss all at once all day long. Very often on the weekends he’s a salesman or a delivery truck driver.

Yesterday he came by The Stitchery to mow the grass and get the dog to go on the nightly dog walk. I saw him approach the door: “Honey, are those pants tan or gray?” I said, wondering where he’d gotten those jeans. “No, they’re black.” “What? No, they can’t be black!” “No, they’re black”, etc, etc, etc, finally proving the blackness of the jeans by lifting the belt on the side and showing me the seam line. Yep, they WERE black.

He was covered in fine sawdust! This precious man deserves to relax in style!

Here’s the soft but hefty Japanese cotton he will get to wear after a long hard day in the sawdust. It will soften with each washing. The photo shows both the wrong and right sides of the fabric. He likes the darker (wrong) side the best so that’s what he’ll get. This fabric is 45″ wide unlike the traditional Japanese kimono textile which were 14″ wide

fabric

Kimono means simply “Things to wear”. This garment will be a yukata as it is made from the simple traditional cotton normally worn by men and women for informal summer occasions and for lounging in the home. Yukata means “bathing clothes”.

I am following the instructions in this book. I will be making some modifications to the kimono to make it a man’s kimono: I will shorten the length of the sleeves and I will make only a 2.75″ wide tie which will measure twice his circumference plus 14″- 20″ for tying. It will also be ankle length for him rather than floor length as a woman’s more formal kimono is made.

Book

Here are two patterns for laying out the kimono. The top pattern is the front and back pieces all in one long piece with separate pieces added to the fronts for the wrap over extensions to accommodate the 14″ wide traditional fabrics and a seam down the back pieces.

The bottom pattern allows the wrap front as cut on pieces and the fronts and back are seamed at the shoulders with no center back seam. I am using this one.

Pattern

Simple enough instructions:

Instructions

with one page of information on how to make a lined kimono

Lined

There are more instructions for additional pieces like the collar guard,

CollarGuard

that can be removed for cleaning without having to take apart a fine silk kimono

CollarGuardInstruct

tips for making ties

Ties

and even how to make a mock obi

Mock Obi

This pattern has been reviewed favorably at Pattern Review but it is for a lined kimono

Simplicity5839

Husband, au natural, is well insulated already so he will get an unlined cotton kimono.

I, however, am cold all the time. I will make a lined kimono and obi of some kind for me. More to come….

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. Ohhh, it looks a little bit complicated:)
    Good luck!
    Thanks for visiting our blog!
    Regards!
    m_m

    Reply
  2. That is a nice gesture to spoil your hb after a long day work in sawdust. The kimono will be fab and thanks for sharing the book. Enjoy the sewing process.

    Reply
  3. Care to review tha tbook when you are done? That is one I missed when I was asked by the Pilot to consider a Samurai costume one year … I was going to go with a Folkwear pattern, but I like the idea of a book better!

    Reply
  4. So you both will have some comfy lounging things now! Your purple outfit is pretty and relaxing and I’m sure the kimono will be and excellent garment for relaxing.

    Reply
  5. I made a kimono for my then-boyfriend about 25 years ago using a Folkwear pattern that I believe is still available. I used cotton flannel, and it turned out very well. Folkwear includes the collar guard facing, as I recall, and other traditional construction methods.

    Reply
  6. A friend wanted a kimono. We looked at Amazon for a book and I think we came across this one. But she was not brave enough to sew it, so we did not buy it.However it looks interesting.
    Thank you for visiting me too.
    Regarding trousers and jacket, if you like them, sew them. The pattern and the explanations are very easy to follow. Usually, I always have to reread the explanations, or thing a bit over how pieces come together. Not in this case, it was like in a dream and very relaxing.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Kimono II « The Stitchery

  8. Hello! I sometimes sew a yukata(casual summer kimono.) or obi by hand.

    It’s really nice that you make kimono by yourself!

    Reply
  9. I love this!!!
    Would you send ebook of kimono (like shown) to me, please…

    Reply
    • Ian, I do not have this book available in any form. I am a simple stitcher who blogs her research and projects. You will have to contact the publisher for what ever it is you are wanting. Google it!

      Reply
  10. Mary Beth that fabric is SO beautiful! Can’t wait to see it made up.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: More V8915 Tops | The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

