RSS Feed

More Exotica

Posted on

Guate3
(Guatemalan ikat from Fabrics of the World purchased circa 2005)

Today I was reading one of my new favorite blogs, Red Thread Studio where I found a link to a fabric vendor who’s quality fabrics I’ve had the pleasure of buying years ago at a sewing expo. When I bought my silks and exquisite beads from her the business was called “Hands of the Hills” but now it’s reincarnated as Bohemian Element with an online store. Yippeee!

Theresa (Mertens) is now carrying Guatemalan fabric by the yard and the price and selection is great. And she has Japanese Kasuri as well. Be still my heart!

And, Ohhh, the buttons…

And she has vintage kimonos now, just in case you don’t want to make your own.

This is just plain great! Much as I’d like to list all the goodies you can find at Bohemian Element I’ll let you go peek around and see what has got me all excited. Like I said, I think the prices are really more than fair.

Nothing better than a gorgeous design made from exotic fabrics…

OOP Vogue 2854 made last summer.
Backstory here: May 2008 and reviewed here
Guate1

Thanks Lanie and Theresa!

sewing hugs,
Mary Beth

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Dear Mary Beth, thank you for the link and the very kind compliment! I had a great time talking with Theresa — and she really does have a treasure trove of wonderful fabric and embellishments. Your Guatemalan top and skirt is gorgeous – great fit and fabric.

    Reply
  2. Hi. You have been awarded the Lovely Blog Award at http://djstoreroom.blogspot.com!

    Happy Sewing!

    Reply
  3. This is so pretty on you. I love the length and the proportions. Your hair looks so good, too!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

