RSS Feed

Shirt Making

Posted on

Last week I finished a blouse for me. I posted about it over at The Sewing Divas and at PatternReview.com where thankfully it was well received. I hesitate to post at PatternReview because I have to do all my own photography and it’s not always Pretty! But I took the plunge and it worked out OK this time.

One of the commentors at PatternReview was curious to see a photo of the button spacing because I wrote about it but didn’t not originally publish a photo of the button spacing.

buttonfront

The first button down the front is 1 1/4″ from the collar band so that it can be buttoned with a nice and modest spread to the collar. The second and third buttons are 3 1/4″ apart so that the third is exactly placed horizontally between the bust points, preventing the dreaded gaposis. The rest of the buttons down the front are 3 9/16″ apart and end 2″ above the hemline so that the blouse can be worn untucked and neat. Unfortunately I didn’t pay much attention and took the photo before I had ironed in the hem. Details, details!

Shirt making is all about details. I love to make shirts

WSS

5

cuff

front

But I don’t always review the patterns I use or post photos of each and every project. I have many more that are unpublished.

However…

I also love to read about fine shirt making and see others work. So that brings me to my two favorite shirt makers in the whole world: David Page Coffin and Pam Erny’s blog Off The Cuff ~Sewing Style~.

Pam posted a wonderful tutorial on making fast and perfect flat felled seams on her blog Off The Cuff ~Sewing Style~ yesterday.

If you like to make one-of-a-kind shirts you’ll appreciate Pam’s work. She posts clear tutorials, professional results and innovative styles.

If you have missed checking out this great blog, go see!

Oh, and no, I have no affiliation with her beyond being an unabashed fan. 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. I can see why you love to make shirts. You do it so perfectly! If you’re not aware, there is a brand new sew along at PR called “The Great White Shirt Sew Along”. I would love to see you sign up and give us some epert advise.

    Reply
    • Hi Gwen: Thanks for the invite! I did go look at the thread. I do have white shirts on my mind so we’ll see what develops. Right now I am making summer pants and have misplaced my TNT pattern (ack…) so the process is slower than it should be.

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the link to Pam’s blog – I’d not seen it, and there is some great information there.
    And, do you recall which pattern you used for the floral blouse with the front ruffle?
    All your shirts look great.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for showing these. I love that flowered one with the wide french cuffs and all the buttons! What a great detail.

    Reply
  4. Beautiful shirts! I love reading about them too!

    Reply
  5. Wow these are all beautiful. I love to make shirts for my husband…he wears them with so much pride 🙂
    I have to agree with you Pam’s blog is awesome!
    I have David Coffin’s book and I’d also like to get the Shirt making DVD.

    http://www.amazon.com/Shirtmaking-Techniques-David-Page-Coffin/dp/1600850774/ref=pd_sim_b_8

    Reply
  6. I am Kizito Herman Executve Director African Intercultural Support Trust an Non-governmental organization
    in Uganda helps the disadvantaged youths through designs
    and other. Would like to thank all what you have presented here. Will keep intough for more information about your work etc.

    Reply
  7. Hi Mary Beth,
    I notice you have a link for Acorn Fabrics here. I just ordered for them to start my shirtmaking adventure (will be practising on old sheets first of course).
    Love the duplicates in denim!
    Sarah

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

