RSS Feed

Leggings

Posted on

Ah, the thing about age and appropriate dress…I have so many “shoulds” and “shouldn’ts” running in the background so quietly that I am almost unaware of the rules…and leggings on a woman over 55 is one of them. That’s a rule of fashion, right? I thought so. Until this happened this morning:

What Da Ya Know

So, do these look so bad? Compared to the alternative, the dress without the leggings, I have to go with the leggings. What do you think?

Close Up

I found these leggings as a set with a boat necked top made from the same stretch lace, back in 1986 or 87 in a high end lingerie shop in Los Angeles. I used to love to haunt those shops and buy merry widows to wear under my lawyerly suits with my back seamed silk stockings. I guess I was pretty weird but not having a sewing machine that works can do that to a girl. That’s my story anyway.

My fancy lace merry widows have all been given away and stockings are no longer part of my regimen. But the set remains in my lingerie drawer, a reminder of the luxury lingerie shops that can be found in large urban areas.

Given that the leggings are 22 or 3 years old I could not avoid buying 3 yards of new stretch lace from Ann at GorgeousFabrics.com when she described the lace as being soooo soft. I tried to avoid, in fact, I successfully avoided for at least 2 weeks, but then I could hold out no longer and “thump!” I fell. So. There. You. Go. My latest insanity.

New Stretch Lace

Ann’s done a few different things with this fabric already, but I’m sure she hasn’t made leggings out of it, yet. And I see it’s on sale right now. And I missed the sale. I should have held out longer. But I might have come to my senses if I had. I’m glad the fashion police don’t have a jail.

sewing hugs all
🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. I think a woman of a certain age, who has gone through what a certain woman of a certain age has gone through should be allow to wear what ever she gosh darn well pleases. Especially if she has legs as nice as those. Now, where are those lovely shops in LA?

    Reply
  2. You still have great legs to show so why not do it in a bit of luxury like the lace leggings. Go for it .

    Reply
  3. I’m a big fan of leggings and I think you look great in them; you have great legs, why shouldn’t you be allowed to show them off?

    Reply
  4. eastlakecounty

    Good lord, they look great! I think these pictures make a strong case for requiring women of a certain age to wear leggings every day.

    Reply
  5. Well, now, you don’t have to put it in those terms, “compared to the alternative”! I actually think the dress looks better with the leggings – it’s a bit fresher and cuter, and I’ll admit it, better than the alternative. Yes, make another pair in Ann’s lace – and a cute little dress to go with them!

    Reply
  6. Dang – you *do* have great looking legs! I agree, you go for it, they look great on you.

    Reply
  7. I think a woman of a certain age should wear whatever she likes and looks good on her. Those leggings look great on you and are perfect with that dress. They really make the whole thing look fun and kicky.

    Reply
  8. The picture made me smile a big grin. It looks
    very very pretty. I think it dresses up your
    dress, which I also like very much.

    The advantage with being over 55 is that you
    now have a free licence to do and be anything
    you want to….as long as the police aren’t
    involved. Remember that little cartoon about
    ‘wearing purple’?

    Reply
  9. By all means! Lace leggings look wonderful, especially on you. We “women of a certain age” have to strut our stuff too.

    Reply
  10. Your outfit looks wonderful on you. The leggings give it a fresh and very stylish look. You definitely can wear this 🙂

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Sewing Slim Pants and Leggings from HP DV Cigarette Pants « The Stitchery

  12. is there a pattern for making leggings?

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

