RSS Feed

Slippery Stash Management

Posted on

These are the main shelving units that my husband made for me when I moved into The Stitchery. They are made from 3/4″ baltic birch and are 17″ deep by 30″ wide by 77 inches tall. Because they are made of a solid wood they handle packing in the fabric and support heavy weight suitings, coatings and wools

Shelves 17" Deep

the second of three units:

Coatings

As I was reorganizing I realized that many delicate fabrics were getting lost, shoved to the back of the shelves and were being overlooked in the planning stages of my sewing.

Georgettes, chiffons, anything slinky or slippery, knits or wovens are stored much better in small cubicles. Off I went to Lowes where I found the perfect solution:

ClosetMaid Shoe Storage Units! Prefinished, ready to assemble and stackable. Mwahahahahaha!

First I had to span over the floor register so this worked the “horizontal organizer”
Horizontal Organizer
and I stacked this on top: “15 shoe organizer”
15 shoe
I still had space under the window so next to this unit I put the “25 shoe organizer”
25 shoe
And on top of the 25 shoe unit I had room to go up to the ceiling with two of these stackable shelves
3 Shelf Stackable
The beauty of these pieces are that they are only 11.5″ deep and everything is visible

Shoe Stash

So with an investment of approximately $150 I was able to fill previously unused space and didn’t have to wait for my very busy husband to have time to build them for me. I think this was a bargain and the perfect solution for storing slippery, gauzy, lightweight fabrics.

Very cool! And husband was pleased he didn’t have to do anything 🙂

OK, back to work…
sewing hugs to all!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. What a great idea for those shoe organizers and little cubes! I have to borrow that one from you.

    PS – nice stash!!!

    Reply
  2. OMG, that is such a great idea! Hmmmm, I’ll have to look around the house and see where I can put some cubbies of my own…

    Reply
  3. What a nice stash of fabrics you have. Thanks for showing the storage idea.

    Reply
  4. WOW…looks great…fab idea that I am going to steal!
    (and I recognize some of your fabrics…their brothers and sisters are staring at me 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a fabulous idea. I am sure I can use that somewhere.

    Reply
  6. Wow! What a great way to display all of your creative hopes and dreams!

    Reply
  7. A home fit for a queen’s stash. Great idea – and great stash. I admit to lingering to gaze longingly at some of your treasures, with lust in my heart.

    Reply
  8. What a perfect solution!

    Reply
  9. What a thoughtful solution!

    My dh also made me 5 large shelving units similar to your large ones. I hadn’t really noticed the problem with small pieces; but this is only because I have so much stuff stacked in front of the shelves right now that I can’t get to the fabric ON the shelves at all.

    It’s getting to be time to do a clear-out….
    Your photos are inspiring!
    Elaine

    Reply
  10. As my fabric is just sitting in plastic trash bags right now, I’m taking all the hints I can get!

    Reply
  11. Ooooh myyyy Gosh! With bulging eyes. This has got to be the most wonderful stash I have ever seen! Love the shelvings but the stash….the stash…

    If only I had the space for shelves like those.

    Reply
  12. Vibeke in Oslo

    Hee-hee I see a couple of my own friends in there. This looks very handy, but what about dust? I ask because my own sewing and stashing breeds dust in alarming quantities. (Though there’s the book habit as well.) You obviously have a 10-year stash going there and I’d think dust may abrade the fibers?? And the fabrics seems to generate dust on their own. Some simple muslin curtains may serve as a barrier.

    Reply
    • Dust: I have not had a problem with dust since I have moved the cutting and sewing to a different room. I keep the filter in the central heat and air changed often and rarely open the curtains or windows. I have a day bed and a reading chair in this room so there is not much traffic to bring dust in. I guess it has all worked out since all the refolding has shown no fading or dust.

      Reply
  13. I see several friends in your lovely arrangement as well, including the multi-colored sweater knit in your coating area. I made this in a KS pullover, and when I wore it, always got lots of compliments.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

