RSS Feed

Making Trousers by David Page Coffin

Posted on

It came today! I pre-ordered in April and now it’s here. My review of this book is short: buy it. You won’t be sorry.

100_1174

I have briefly flipped through the book and it’s all I’ve dreamed it would be and much more.

You know how you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone? Well, ever since I first wadded through DPC’s Shirtmaking book, complaining the whole way over the disorganization of it, I’ve settle down to treasure all the scattered bits and pieces and great ideas and explanations. And I’ve missed his mind!

So just for starters I am getting ready to cut out a new pattern and was getting ready to add a cut on fly to the pattern. I was wondering if there were any secrets or rationale I should know before I do my changes and the first page that opened in the new book was this:

Fly

Of course everything I know about tailoring and dressmaking has come from pattern instructions, my Mom, research or my teachers and the concept of folding a zipper tape in making the fly had just never come up. So, I am a happy camper, I’ve got some new thoughts to think 🙂

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

8 responses »

  1. Goody! Mine should be along shortly. I agree that the Shirtmaking book was “oddly” organized, but I count that as probably the best sewing book I have, and the only one I read cover to cover, like a novel. It really opened up my sewing and my thinking about all sewing, not just shirts. I’m looking forward to this one, and it has color! And multimedia!

    Reply
    • I agree that the Shirtmaking book gives much more than shirt making info, Meredith. I hope your new Trousers book arrives very soon…it’s definitely going to be traveling around with me in the book bag.

      Reply
  2. Oh, I’m working my way through shirtmaking now, I’m in chapter 6. I didn’t notice the disorganization until you mentioned it. I actually like it, because it is more like a conversation or how he thinks. For me it works, but don’t ask me to explain exactly why. I’ll have to think about the trouser book seriously, not.

    Reply
  3. Hmmm, that looks interesting. Great, now I want this book. I’ll have to put it on my Christmas list though because I have just got to stop buying things.

    Reply
  4. My copy is shipped yesterday preordered in April like yours from amazon, so I am looking forward to reading.

    Reply
  5. Methinks this will be fine birthday present for myself… I hadn’t realized it was out already!

    Reply
  6. How in the world did I miss the release of this book? It looks like it will be a great addition to my sewing library. Thanks for the post and information!

    Reply
  7. My copy arrived yesterday. I am so happy, though haven’t had the time to read it from cover to cover. Just scanned it and yes, it is another WINNER from David Page Coffin. I will buy anything he publishes. He gives his readers ALL the information they need to produce impeccible garments. His Shirtmaking book took my sewing to the next higher level. I feel so thankful and grateful to him. He doesn’t short-change his readers.
    I hope this book on trousers-making will do the same for me as his shirtmaking book did.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

