RSS Feed

Laundry Room

Posted on

Since I’ve donated the bad fabric choices from early coop purchasing days, shut down some of the commercial sewing and moved the preschool administration files over to the school building I have more space.

As you can imagine this new space has made a big difference in how easily and quickly I can sew up a project, clean up and then start a new one.

Except when fabric needs to be processed before it is cut.  Then, everything stops for the day and I have to take it to the house so I can use the laundry facilities there in the evening.  Now I have this space, open and available with electric, water and vent, all ready for a washing machine and dryer at The Stitchery.

Laundry Room

I have tested the water supply to this room and it’s good.  The plumbing in the kitchen is so poor there’s hardly water pressure to run a dishwasher and it takes forever to fill the sink to wash dishes and filling the bath tub or using the shower requires that the rust be flushed out first, but the laundry pipes are in good shape.  I was relieved.

So I’ve been debating whether to buy a washer and dryer, new or used, center agitator, steam, whatever.  Have been researching, reading and thinking.  I’d really like a faster better way to process wools and had just about given up when my friend Pam (a well educated tailor and professional shirtmaker) posted her article about processing wools on the run.

How To Preshrink Wool – Fast and Easy at Home!

Just the information I needed!  I now feel that I can get the smaller el cheapo models of washer and dryers and get along just fine.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. Yes Mary Beth, skip the fancy appliances. Heck, I wash all of our clothes (and Pre-Shrink wools, LOL) in Maytags that are over 12 years old and still going strong. And I’m not about to replace them until they die. Not spending $$$$ on appliances leaves me more $$$ for fabrics! YAY !

    Reply
  2. Oooo, I’m so jealous! I would love a handy pre-treatment area!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

