RSS Feed

Another Shrug from Hot Patterns Free Download

I’ve just finished another Hot Patterns Slinky Shrug (first version and tips for download given here) in a black, gray and white colorway.

100_1995

I had a little over 2 yards of this great 60″ wide fabric from The Wool House so it was perfect for a shrug. It’s a loosely woven wool, very warm and I had just one yard of the faux fur.

I faced the back faux fur stripe with silk charmeuse because I wanted to have enough left over so I could make a gift for a very special person out of the rest of the wool and fur. I believe I’ll have just enough.

Back

I wasn’t really prepped for photos today and I’m in a bit of a hurry to finish up, shut down and go home, but what must be, must be :).  We had our first snow of the season today (love it!)

Full Front

This shrug was cut on the bias and is fully lined with black stretch silk charmeuse from GorgeousFabrics.com (lovely stuff!)  I used a fusible tape to secure all the cut edges of the wool and then used a  multistitch zigzag on top of it to  ensure no fraying.

It’s comfy!  And very very warm.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

12 responses »

  1. I love these shrugs you have been making, they look so elegant on you.
    Enjoy your first snowfall 🙂

    Reply
  2. Very stylish and elegant with the long black leather gloves.

    Reply
  3. Great shrug! But it’s snowing on your blog. Whazzup with that? 🙂

    Reply
  4. I am so inspired and excited about the two shrugs you’ve shown. They are both so classy. I surely want to make one of these as soon as I can find the correct fabric. Where is the Wool House located?

    Reply
    • Hi Faye: The Wool House is a fabric supplier to tailoring shops based in Toronto, Canada. They have been vendors at ASG annual meetings and the American Sewing Expo in Novi, Michigan, in the US I and my friend Tessa posted reviews of the store at PR.com a number of years ago that you should go read. I don’t think they have an online presence and I am not sure that the address and phone number for them is still good. I’ve only bought from them in person at sewing shows.

      Reply
  5. I really liked the first one you had sewed, but I LOVE this one!

    Reply
  6. Another beautiful shrug.Very inspiring

    Reply
  7. That is so elegant!

    Reply
  8. Absolutely gorgeous! Love the combination of fur and boucle. You’re an inspiration. I never thought of lining it!

    Reply
  9. Love it – elegant combination of fabrics! Extra points for being comfortable, warm and fashionable.

    Reply
  10. It is very pretty. Do you really go to your sewing studio in dress scarf and boots? I’m impressed!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

