RSS Feed

Black Tricot Slip

Ooops, I wanted to start on a shrug for a Christmas present today but I needed a quick slip instead. So I made one up and edged it with non-stretch lace.  I wish I had known the slip needed to be straightened for the photo but the picture will suffice for our purposes.

Slip

I could use inexpensive non stretch lace because I made the slip very short. At this length my legs are not going to swing as wide when I walk, climb, run or sit than it would if the slip were at the knee or longer. Kind of like how open scissors blades are not as far apart from each other near the handle as they are at the tips.

Scissors

I took my hip measurement and added a half inch of ease, folded and carefully found the straight of the grain on the tricot, and cut out a 16″ long rectangle by one half the hip + ease measurement.  I serged up the side or back seam, where ever you want to place it, and applied some black elastic to the waist edge using a multiple stitch zigzag stitch to attach the upper edge of the tricot to the elastic after I’d zigzagged the two edges of the elastic into a circle.

You do keep lengths of lingerie elastic in white and black in the stash, right?  It saves so much time!  Stash is a good thing.

I’ll explain how I applied the elastic to the waist even though the method is very well known.  But there’s a first time for everything, right? and I remember how frustrating some things can be when you’ve not done them before.

To gather the tricot to the elastic I fold the elastic in half and mark with pins the two half points.  Then I put those 2 pins together to find the quarter points.   I did the same thing to the tricot and the matched up the pins on both to each other, stretching the elastic as I stitched.

Then I zigzagged along the top edge of the lace to fasten it to the tricot and overlapped and zigzagged the ends of the lace together and cut off the remainder.

It took less than an hour and gave me a new black half slip but that amount of time would have been increased by 15 minutes or more had I cut away the black tricot that is behind the lace.  Maybe tonight I’ll take the time to do the cutting.

For now I’m on to making a gift.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Your slip looks very pretty!I like the addition of the lace. This is an excellent explanation on how to make a slip. (That’s exactly what I do too with the pins ~ for the elastic 🙂

    Thank you so very much for offering me rivets. That is very kind of you and I will keep this in mind when I start another pair of jeans 🙂

    Reply
  2. Great slip and making a quick garment can save the day.

    Reply
  3. I really like the black lace slip with the white stockings – an interesting sort of antique Jumeau doll look. You have me wondering what the dress it all goes underneath looks like.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

