RSS Feed

Embroidery Is Good

I confess: I have an embroidery machine that I don’t use as much as I used to. I have had terrible luck with getting my very expensive digitizing software to do my bidding. It is no good at doing fabric content labels and Custom Couture name labels because it can’t seem to handle tiny fonts nor very close up work without crashing. I just bought into the wrong software, plain and simple.

My machine is runs well and is in great shape, though. I gave up trying to get the fancy labels I wanted and instead used a “stock” font to embroider the recipient’s initials in a soft gray poly thread on a section of black grosgrain 1″ ribbon which I then stitched on to this latest shrug:

Closeup

I satin stitched the cut ends of the ribbon to secure them from fraying and the ribbon serves to control the traditional pleat in the silk lining.

Doesn’t a touch of embroidery class up the garment? I’m pleased.

Now to send it off for Christmas surprises and warmth and change the sewing and serging threads to some color besides black, some color more friendly to these old eyes. And I just got new glasses this past summer. Too soon to need new ones, isn’t it?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. I do like the monogram. Very nice touch. I have developed floaters in my vision. Nothing can be done about it and it is very annoying.

    Reply
  2. Sewing with black always does that. I save my black sewing for weekend where I know I’ll have time during daylight. Maybe, once a month with luck. Otherwise, sewing with black after work, at night is just too taxing and error prone.

    Reply
  3. Yes, that is the perfect finishing touch!

    Reply
  4. Your blog is very intertesting, tday I know you, (sorry for my english, I´m in class)

    Reply
  5. Nice label, I like the “plain” ones better, for some reason they “read” classier to me. Sewing with black can give me fits also. If I must work on it at night, I have to put it right under the light, and use a magnifier, or more often, remove my glasses totally (extemely near sighted). As far as just getting glasses last summer, I got new glasses at least once a year until I was in my early 20’s, and again when I first needed bifocals. After a few years, it’s again settled down to needing new ones about every 3 years. Hope it’s just the working on black, there’s way more fun stuff to spend $$$ on than glasses!

    Reply
  6. Lovely label. Heck, I don’t even use my embroidery module that much – wish I knew how! LOL, terrible to admit, don’t you think?

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

